UFC 179 Quick Results and News

ufc-179-640x360

UFC 179 goes down from the Ginasio do Maracanazinho, in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil on Saturday evening.

A rematch is set for the main event, as Jose Aldo puts his featherweight title on the line against number one contender Chad Mendes. Light heavyweight’s Phil Davis and Glover Teixeira square off in the co-main event.

The UFC 179 fight card kicks off on UFC Fight Pass at 4pm PT/7pm ET, then moves on to FOX Sports 1 at 5pm PT/8pm ET with the PPV beginning at 7pm PT/10pm ET.

Check out full results below.

MAIN CARD (PPV – 7pm PT/10pm ET)

  • Jose Aldo def. Chad Mendes via Unanimous Decision (49-46, 49-46, 49-46) – for featherweight title
  • Phil Davis def. Glover Teixeira via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Fabio Maldonado def. Hans Stringer via TKO (Punches) at 4:06 of Round 2
  • Darren Elkins def. Lucas Martins via Split Decision (30-27, 27-30, 30-27)
  • Beneil Dariush def. Diego Ferreira via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

PRELIMINARY CARD (FOX Sports 1 – 5pm PT/8pm ET)

  • Neil Magny def. William Macario via TKO (Punches) at 2:40 of Round 3
  • Yan Cabral def. Naoyuki Kotani via Submission (RNC) at 3:06) of Round 2
  • Wilson Reis def. Scott Jorgensen via Submission (arm triangle) at 3:28 of Round 1
  • Andre Fili def. Felipe Arantes via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

PRELIMINARY CARD (UFC Fight Pass – 4pm PT/7pm ET)

  • Gilbert Burns def. Christos Giagos via Submission (Armbar) at 4:57 of Round 1
  • Tony Martin def. Fabricio Camoes via Submission (Kimura) at 4:16 of Round 1

 

Stay tuned right here at MMA Sucka for more live streams as well as videos highlighting the top fighters, commentators, coaches, promoters and other names in MMA and combat sports. We also bring you great offers on the latest MMA products and merchandise. You can also subscribe to our youtube channel for regular updates and all the latest fight news. You can also check out our sister site, at TheFightBuzz.com for the latest from the world of MMA and other combat sports.

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here