MMASucka’s UFC 238 staff picks

UFC 238
CHICAGO, IL - JUNE 07: (L-R) Tony Ferguson and Donald Cerrone pose for the media during the UFC 238 weigh-in at the United Center on June 7, 2019 in Chicago, Illinois. (Photo by Jeff Bottari/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images)

MMASucka’s UFC 238 staff picks are in for tonight, June 8, from the United Center in Chicago, Illinois. This will be our only event counted this weekend towards our 2019 records. Main card action will begin live on pay-per-view at the usual time of 10:00pm ET (7:00pm PT).


The night will be capped off with a thrilling fight for the vacant bantamweight championship between Henry Cejudo and Marlon Moraes. Cejudo captured the flyweight pound belt last year in a tight decision rematch over all-time great Demetrious Johnson. Despite the controversy, he excelled the following bout with his first title defense finishing TJ Dillashaw by technical knockout at just 32 seconds into the first. This will be the former gold medal Olympian’s first chance at becoming a two-division champion in the UFC. His opponent, Moraes, comes in riding a four-fight win streak dating back to November of 2017. In that stretch includes three straight first-round finishes over ranked bantamweights Aljamain Sterling, Jimmie Rivera, and Raphael Assuncao. Moraes only has suffered one defeat in his last 18 fights, that coming to Assuncao in their first fight following a dominant reign as the WSOF bantamweight champion.

In the co-main event, Valentina Shevchenko looks to defend her flyweight championship for the first time against challenger Jessica Eye. Shevchenko claimed the vacant belt in a dominant unanimous decision victory over former strawweight title holder Joanna Jedrzejczyk. Eye is in search of fourth straight victory since returning to flyweight having nearly been cut from the promotion after four straight losses from 2015 to 2016.

Another incredible fight could play out as a title eliminator for the lightweight division between Tony Ferguson and Donald “Cowboy” Cerrone. Ferguson has won his last eleven UFC fights in a row while Cerrone looks to extend his record to 24 victories inside the promotion.

The remaining UFC 238 fights can be found further below.

ProAmBelts | High Quality Custom Championship Belts


Throughout the year, staff picks will be composed of four different MMA promotions: UFCBellatorONE, and RIZIN. Main cards will make up both UFC and Bellator picks, while the biggest fights to make up ONE and RIZIN events will be used. The WINNER of staff picks will have a choice between receiving a championship belt from ProAmBelts or a championship chain from Championship Chains. The 2018 winner was awarded to Michael DeSantis, compiling a record of 202-101.

Check out our MMASucka staff picks for UFC 238 below.

Staff Records after RIZIN 16:

1. Ed Gallo: 124-64
2. Michael DeSantis: 121-67
3. Connor Deitrich: 120-68
4. Brian Gerson: 119-69
5T. Mike Skytte: 117-71
5T. Ryan Wagner: 117-63
7. Wesley Riddle: 116-72
8T. Jeremy Brand: 111-77
8T. Omar Villagrana: 111-77
10. Mitchell Banuelos: 104-69
11T. Matt Bricker: 102-76
11T. Patrick Auger: 102-79
13T. Justin Pierrot: 101-77
13T. Ash Camyab: 101-71
15. Frazer Krohn: 29-25
16. Ryan Hobbs: 19-21
17. Matheus Costa: 11-9
18. Andrew Benjamin: 10-7

Tai Tuivasa (8-1) vs. Blagoy Ivanov (17-2, 1 NC)

Jeremy Brand: Ivanov via UD
Wesley Riddle: Tuivasa via SD
Mike Skytte: Tuivasa via UD
Justin Pierrot: Tuivasa via UD
Michael DeSantis: Tuivasa via Round 2 TKO
Ryan Wagner: Tuivasa via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Ivanov via UD
Ed Gallo: Tuivasa via UD
Omar Villagrana: Tuivasa via UD
Brian Gerson: Ivanov via UD
Matt Bricker: Ivanov via UD
Connor Deitrich: Tuivasa via Round 1 TKO
Patrick Auger: Ivanov via UD
Ash Camyab: Tuivasa via Round 3 TKO
Frazer Krohn: Tuivasa via UD
Matheus Costa: Ivanov via SD

Staff picking Tuivasa: 10
Staff picking Ivanov: 6

Jimmie Rivera (22-3) vs. Petr Yan (12-1)

Jeremy Brand: Yan via UD
Wesley Riddle: Yan via UD
Mike Skytte: Yan via UD
Justin Pierrot: Yan via Round 2 TKO
Michael DeSantis: Yan via UD
Ryan Wagner: Yan via Round 2 TKO
Mitchell Banuelos: Yan via Round 2 TKO
Ed Gallo: Yan via Round 3 TKO
Omar Villagrana: Rivera via UD
Brian Gerson: Yan via UD
Matt Bricker: Yan via UD
Connor Deitrich: Yan via UD
Patrick Auger: Yan via Round 3 TKO
Ash Camyab: Yan via UD
Frazer Krohn: Rivera via UD
Matheus Costa: Yan via UD

Staff picking Rivera: 2
Staff picking Yan: 14

Tony Ferguson (24-3) vs. Donald Cerrone (36-11, 1 NC)

Jeremy Brand: Cerrone via Round 2 TKO
Wesley Riddle: Cerrone via Round 3 TKO
Mike Skytte: Cerrone via UD
Justin Pierrot: Ferguson via Round 3 TKO
Michael DeSantis: Cerrone via Round 2 TKO
Ryan Wagner: Ferguson via Round 2 TKO
Mitchell Banuelos: Ferguson via Round 2 TKO
Ed Gallo: Ferguson via Round 3 TKO
Omar Villagrana: Ferguson via UD
Brian Gerson: Ferguson via Round 2 TKO
Matt Bricker: Ferguson via Round 2 TKO
Connor Deitrich: Ferguson via UD
Patrick Auger: Cerrone via Round 3 TKO
Ash Camyab: Ferguson via Round 2 TKO
Frazer Krohn: Ferguson via Round 3 TKO
Matheus Costa: Ferguson via Round 3 TKO

Staff picking Ferguson: 11
Staff picking Cerrone: 5

Valentina Shevchenko (16-3) vs. Jessica Eye (14-6, 1 NC)
*UFC Women’s Flyweight Championship*

Jeremy Brand: Shevchenko via Round 2 TKO
Wesley Riddle: Shevchenko via Round 2 SUB
Mike Skytte: Shevchenko via UD
Justin Pierrot: Shevchenko via UD
Michael DeSantis: Shevchenko via Round 2 SUB
Ryan Wagner: Shevchenko via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Shevchenko via Round 3 SUB
Ed Gallo: Shevchenko via UD
Omar Villagrana: Shevchenko via Round
Brian Gerson: Shevchenko via Round
Matt Bricker: Shevchenko via Round 3 TKO
Connor Deitrich: Shevchenko via Round 3 SUB
Patrick Auger: Shevchenko via UD
Ash Camyab: Shevchenko via Round 2 SUB
Frazer Krohn: Shevchenko via Round 3 TKO
Matheus Costa: Shevchenko via UD

Staff picking Shevchenko: 16
Staff picking Eye: 0

Henry Cejudo (14-2) vs. Marlon Moraes (22-5-1)
*UFC Bantamweight Championship*

Jeremy Brand: Moraes via Round 4 TKO
Wesley Riddle: Moraes via Round 1 TKO
Mike Skytte: Moraes via Round 2 TKO
Justin Pierrot: Cejudo via UD
Michael DeSantis: Moraes via Round 2 TKO
Ryan Wagner: Moraes via Round 1 TKO
Mitchell Banuelos: Moraes via Round 1 TKO
Ed Gallo: Moraes via Round 1 TKO
Omar Villagrana: Moraes via UD
Brian Gerson: Moraes via Round 1 TKO
Matt Bricker: Moraes via Round 1 TKO
Connor Deitrich: Moraes via Round 2 TKO
Patrick Auger: Moraes via Round 2 TKO
Ash Camyab: Cejudo via Round 3 TKO
Frazer Krohn: Moraes via UD
Matheus Costa: Moraes via UD

Staff picking Cejudo: 2
Staff picking Moraes: 14

Embed from Getty Images

Previous articleFinal X Rutgers Results
Next articleUFC 238 Results
Wesley Riddle is a 25-year-old writer out of Harrisonburg, Virginia and a recent graduate from Roanoke College in Salem, Virginia, having obtained a Bachelor's Degree in Health and Physical Education. Watching the draw between Frankie Edgar and Gray Maynard from 2011 sparked his interest in the sport of mixed martial arts. He created "All That MMA" on Twitter, which came to birth in December of 2013. He would join with MMASucka in the later quarter of 2016. Some of Riddle's hobbies include music, playing golf, watching horror movies, and working with non-profit organizations throughout his community. You can follow him on Twitter at @AllThatMMA or @WesleyRiddleMMA, and on Instagram @WesleyRiddle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here