MMASucka’s UFC 239 Staff Picks

UFC 239 staff picks
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA - JULY 04: (L-R) Jon Jones and Thiago Santos of Brazil face off during the UFC 239 Ultimate Media Day at T-Mobile Arena on July 4, 2019 in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Jeff Bottari/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images)

MMASucka’s UFC 239 staff picks are in for tonight’s event from the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada. The pay-per-view main card will begin at the usual time of 10:00pm ET (7:00pm PT).


Two title fights will be on the line tonight. In the main event, UFC light heavyweight champion Jon Jones will look to defend his belt against dangerous striker Thiago Santos. Jones defended the title eight times before getting stripped following a decision win over Daniel Cormier in 2015. He rebounded winning the interim title over Ovince Saint Preux and taking back the belt in a rematch with Cormier. Yet once again, he would get stripped after testing positive; the Cormier win getting overturned. Jones returned in December last year winning the vacant title over Alexander Gustafsson and defending once against Anthony Smith. His opponent tonight, Santos, is looking to end Jones’ dominance. Santos moved up to light heavyweight last year following mediocre success competing at 185 pounds. In doing so, he has his last three opponents by knockout. Fifteen of his 21 victories have come by knockout, eleven inside the UFC alone.

The second title fight will come at bantamweight between two of the greatest female MMA fighters all-time, Amanda Nunes and Holly Holm. Double-champ Nunes currently rides an eight-fight win streak dating back over four years. She the bantamweight strap with a first-round submission over Miesha Tate in July of 2016. Nunes would defend at 135 three times before moving up and capturing the featherweight belt from then-undefeated Cris Cyborg by knockout in 51 seconds. She will return now to defend a fourth time at bantamweight. Her opponent, Holm, was the bantamweight champion after her historic knockout over Ronda Rousey in 2015. However, she would lose the belt to Tate by submission her next fight with back-to-back decision losses to follow. Holm’s last fight came at featherweight earning a dominant decision win over Megan Anderson.

Check out the remaining UFC 239 main card fights below.

ProAmBelts | High Quality Custom Championship Belts


Throughout the year, staff picks will be composed of four different MMA promotions: UFCBellatorONE, and RIZIN. Main cards will make up both UFC and Bellator picks, while the biggest fights to make up ONE and RIZIN events will be used. The WINNER of staff picks will have a choice between receiving a championship belt from ProAmBelts or a championship chain from Championship Chains. The 2018 winner was awarded to Michael DeSantis, compiling a record of 202-101.

Check out our MMASucka UFC 239 staff picks for below.

Staff Records after UFC on ESPN 3:

1T. Michael DeSantis: 148-75
1T. Ed Gallo: 148-75
3. Connor Deitrich: 147-76
4. Brian Gerson: 143-80
5. Mike Skytte: 138-85
6T. Jeremy Brand: 134-89
6T. Ryan Wagner: 134-68
8T. Mitchell Banuelos: 126-82
8T. Matt Bricker: 126-86
10. Patrick Auger: 125-91
11T. Justin Pierrot: 120-88
11T. Ash Camyab: 120-87
13. Frazer Krohn: 38-22
14. Ryan Hobbs: 32-33
15. Matheus Costa: 31-18
16. Andrew Benjamin: 14-9
17. Ryan Fortune: 12-7

Diego Sanchez (29-11) vs. Michael Chiesa (15-4)

Jeremy Brand: Chiesa via UD
Mike Skytte: Chiesa via UD
Justin Pierrot: Sanchez via UD
Michael DeSantis: Chiesa via UD
Ryan Wagner: Chiesa via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Chiesa via Round 2 SUB
Ed Gallo: Chiesa via UD
Brian Gerson: Sanchez via UD
Matt Bricker: Chiesa via UD
Connor Deitrich: Chiesa via Round 1 SUB
Patrick Auger: N/A
Ash Camyab: Sanchez via UD
Ryan Hobbs: Chiesa via Round 3 TKO
Andrew Benjamin: N/A
Frazer Krohn: Sanchez via SD
Matheus Costa: Chiesa via DU
Ryan Fortune: Chiesa via Round 2 SUB

Staff picking Sanchez: 4
Staff picking Chiesa: 11

Jan Blachowicz (23-8) vs. Luke Rockhold (16-4)

Jeremy Brand: Rockhold via Round 2 SUB
Mike Skytte: Blachowicz via SD
Justin Pierrot: Rockhold via UD
Michael DeSantis: Rockhold via Round 2 TKO
Ryan Wagner: Rockhold via Round 2 TKO
Mitchell Banuelos: Blachowicz via UD
Ed Gallo: Rockhold via Round 2 TKO
Brian Gerson: Rockhold via UD
Matt Bricker: Blachowicz via UD
Connor Deitrich: Rockhold via Round 2 TKO
Patrick Auger: N/A
Ash Camyab: Rockhold via Round 1 TKO
Ryan Hobbs: Rockhold via UD
Andrew Benjamin: N/A
Frazer Krohn: Rockhold via UD
Matheus Costa: Rockhold via UD
Ryan Fortune: Rockhold via UD

Staff picking Blachowicz: 3
Staff picking Rockhold: 12

Jorge Masvidal (33-13) vs. Ben Askren (19-0, 1 NC)

Jeremy Brand: Askren via Round 1 SUB
Mike Skytte: Masvidal via Round 1 TKO
Justin Pierrot: Masvidal via Round 1 TKO
Michael DeSantis: Askren via UD
Ryan Wagner: Masvidal via Round 2 TKO
Mitchell Banuelos: Masvidal via Round 2 TKO
Ed Gallo: Masvidal via UD
Brian Gerson: Askren via Round 1 TKO
Matt Bricker: Askren via Round 1 TKO
Connor Deitrich: Masvidal via Round 1 TKO
Patrick Auger: N/A
Ash Camyab: Masvidal via Round 2 TKO
Ryan Hobbs: Masvidal via Round 2 TKO
Andrew Benjamin: N/A
Frazer Krohn: Askren via UD
Matheus Costa: Askren via SD
Ryan Fortune: Askren via SD

Staff picking Masvidal: 8
Staff picking Askren: 7

Amanda Nunes (17-4) vs. Holly Holm (12-4)

Jeremy Brand: Nunes via Round 1 TKO
Mike Skytte: Nunes via Round 2 TKO
Justin Pierrot: Nunes via Round 3 TKO
Michael DeSantis: Nunes via UD
Ryan Wagner: Holm via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Nunes via UD
Ed Gallo: Holm via UD
Brian Gerson: Nunes via Round 2 TKO
Matt Bricker: Nunes via Round 4 TKO
Connor Deitrich: Holm via UD
Patrick Auger: N/A
Ash Camyab: Nunes via Round 3 TKO
Ryan Hobbs: Nunes via Round 4 SUB
Andrew Benjamin: N/A
Frazer Krohn: Holm via UD
Matheus Costa: Nunes via UD
Ryan Fortune: Nunes via UD

Staff picking Nunes: 11
Staff picking Holm: 4

Jon Jones (24-1, 1 NC) vs. Thiago Santos (21-6)

Jeremy Brand: Jones via Round 3 TKO
Mike Skytte: Santos via Round 1 TKO
Justin Pierrot: Jones via Round 4 TKO
Michael DeSantis: Jones via Round 2 SUB
Ryan Wagner: Jones via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Santos via Round 2 TKO
Ed Gallo: Santos via UD
Brian Gerson: Jones via UD
Matt Bricker: Jones via UD
Connor Deitrich: Jones via Round 2 SUB
Patrick Auger: N/A
Ash Camyab: Santos via Round 1 TKO
Ryan Hobbs: Jones via Round 3 SUB
Andrew Benjamin: N/A
Frazer Krohn: Jones via Round 4 TKO
Matheus Costa: Jones via Round 2 SUB
Ryan Fortune: Jones via Round 3 TKO

Staff picking Jones: 11
Staff picking Santos: 4

Embed from Getty Images

Previous articleBFL 62 Results
Next articleUFC 239 Results
Wesley Riddle is a 24-year old writer out of Harrisonburg, Virginia and a recent graduate from Roanoke College in Salem, Virginia, having obtained a Bachelor's Degree in Health and Physical Education. Watching the draw between Frankie Edgar and Gray Maynard from 2011 sparked his interest in the sport of mixed martial arts. He created "All That MMA" on Twitter, which came to birth in December of 2013. He would join with MMASucka in the later quarter of 2016. Some of Riddle's hobbies include music, playing golf, watching horror movies, and working with non-profit organizations throughout his community. You can follow him on Twitter at @AllThatMMA or @WesleyRiddleMMA, and on Instagram @WesleyRiddle.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here