MMASucka’s UFC 240 Staff Picks

UFC 240
EDMONTON, AB - JULY 26: (L-R) Max Holloway and Frankie Edgar face off during the UFC 240 weigh-in at Rogers Place on July 26, 2019 in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. (Photo by Jeff Bottari/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images)

The UFC is back this weekend with UFC 240. Taking place in Edmonton, the card is headlined by a featherweight title bout between Max Holloway and Frankie Edgar. Early prelims kick off at 7:00 pm et on UFC Fight Pass. The prelims then move over to ESPN at 8:00, before the pay-per-view portion of the card goes down at 10:00.


The Fights

Though this is by no means a stacked card, the main event is surely an interesting one. Current champion Holloway will be looking to yet again defend his strap in his return to the featherweight division. Edgar, on the other hand, is looking to capitalize on what will likely be the final title shot of his career. The main storyline here is Holloway’s move back down to featherweight and how it could potentially affect his chin and stamina.

In the card’s co-main event, Cris Cyborg returns to action for the first time since losing her featherweight title. She will be looking to get back to her winning ways against Felicia Spencer. Spencer, undefeated in her career at 7-0, last defeated Megan Anderson in May. Elsewhere on the card, hard-hitting welterweight prospect Geoff Neal will look to push his winning streak to six against Niko Price. Also worth noting is the return of Arman Tsarukyan, who showed very promising grappling in his UFC debut against Islam Makhachev. Tsarukyan will be taking on Olivier Aubin-Mercier.


Throughout the year, staff picks will be composed of four different MMA promotions: UFCBellatorONE, and RIZIN. Main cards will make up both UFC and Bellator picks, while the biggest fights to make up ONE and RIZIN events will be used. The WINNER of staff picks will have a choice between receiving a championship belt from ProAmBelts or a championship chain from Championship Chains. The 2018 winner was awarded to Michael DeSantis, compiling a record of 202-101.

Check out all of our UFC 240 staff picks below.

Staff Records after UFC on ESPN 4:

1. Michael DeSantis: 162-96
2. Connor Deitrich: 159-89
3. Ed Gallo: 157-91
4. Brian Gerson: 154-88
5. Mike Skytte: 152-96
6. Jeremy Brand: 148-100
7. Mitchell Banuelos: 146-90
8. Matt Bricker: 141-96
9. Ryan Wagner: 137-70
10T. Patrick Auger: 135-106
10T. Ash Camyab: 135-97
12. Justin Pierrot: 123-90
13. Frazer Krohn: 51-34
14. Ryan Hobbs: 43-42
15. Matheus Costa: 34-20
16. Ryan Fortune: 28-16
17. Andrew Benjamin: 14-9
18. McKenzie Guardiero: 11-9

Krysztof Jotko (20-4) vs. Marc-Andre Barriault (11-2)

Jeremy Brand: Jotko via Round 3 TKO
Mike Skytte: Jotko via UD
Michael DeSantis: Jotko via UD
Ryan Wagner: Jotko via UD
Mitch Banuelos: Jotko via UD
Ed Gallo: Jotko via UD
Brian Gerson: Jotko via UD
Matt Bricker: Jotko via UD
Connor Deitrich: Jotko via UD
Patrick Auger: Jotko via UD
Ash Camyab: Jotko via UD
Ryan Hobbs: Jotko via Round 2 TKO
Andrew Benjamin: Jotko via Round 1 KO
Frazer Krohn: Jotko via UD
Ryan Fortune: Jotko via SD
McKenzie Guardiero: Jotko via Round 2 TKO
Suraj Sukumar: Jotko via UD

Staff picking Jotko: 17
Staff picking Barriault: 0 

Olivier Aubin-Mercier (11-4) vs. Arman Tsarukyan (13-2)

Jeremy Brand: Aubin-Mercier via UD
Mike Skytte: Aubin-Mercier via Round 2 SUB
Michael DeSantis: Tsarukyan via UD
Ryan Wagner: Tsarukyan via UD
Mitch Banuelos: Aubin-Mercier via Round 2 SUB
Ed Gallo: Aubin-Mercier via UD
Brian Gerson: Aubin-Mercier via UD
Matt Bricker: Tsarukyan via UD
Connor Deitrich: Tsarukyan via UD
Patrick Auger: Aubin-Mercier via UD
Ash Camyab: Tsarukyan via Round 1 TKO
Ryan Hobbs: Aubin-Mercier via Round 2 SUB
Andrew Benjamin: Aubin-Mercier via UD
Frazer Krohn: Aubin-Mercier via UD
Ryan Fortune: Tsarukyan via SD
McKenzie Guardiero: Aubin-Mercier via Round 1 SUB
Suraj Sukumar: Aubin-Mercier via UD

Staff picking Aubin-Mercier: 11
Staff picking Tsarukyan: 6

Geoff Neal (11-2) vs. Niko Price (13-2, 1 NC)

Jeremy Brand: Neal via UD
Mike Skytte: Neal via Round 2 TKO
Michael DeSantis: Neal via Round 1 TKO
Ryan Wagner: Neal via Round 2 TKO
Mitch Banuelos: Neal via Round 1 TKO
Ed Gallo: Neal via Round 2 TKO
Brian Gerson: Neal via Round 1 KO
Matt Bricker: Neal via Round 2 TKO
Connor Deitrich: Neal via Round 1 KO
Patrick Auger: Neal via UD
Ash Camyab: Neal via Round 2 TKO
Ryan Hobbs: Price via UD
Andrew Benjamin: Price via UD
Frazer Krohn: Price via Round 2 TKO
Ryan Fortune: Neal via Round 2 TKO
McKenzie Guardiero: Price via UD
Suraj Sukumar: Neal via Round 3 TKO

Staff picking Neal: 13
Staff picking Price: 4

Cris Cyborg (20-2, 1 NC) vs. Felicia Spencer (7-0)

Jeremy Brand: Cyborg via Round 1 KO
Mike Skytte: Cyborg via Round 1 KO
Michael DeSantis: Cyborg via Round 1 KO
Ryan Wagner: Cyborg via Round 1 KO
Mitch Banuelos: Cyborg via Round 1 KO
Ed Gallo: Cyborg via Round 1 KO
Brian Gerson: Cyborg via Round 1 KO
Matt Bricker: Cyborg via Round 1 KO
Connor Deitrich: Cyborg via Round 1 KO
Patrick Auger: Cyborg via Round 1 KO
Ash Camyab: Cyborg via Round 2 KO
Ryan Hobbs: Cyborg via Round 2 KO
Andrew Benjamin: Cyborg via Round 1 KO
Frazer Krohn: Cyborg via Round 2 KO
Ryan Fortune: Cyborg via Round 1 KO
McKenzie Guardiero: Spencer via Round 2 KO
Suraj Sukumar: Cyborg via Round 1 KO

Staff picking Cyborg: 16
Staff picking Spencer: 1

Max Holloway (20-4) vs. Frankie Edgar (23-6-1)

Jeremy Brand: Holloway via UD
Mike Skytte: Holloway via Round 4 TKO
Michael DeSantis: Holloway via Round 4 TKO
Ryan Wagner: Holloway via Round 3 TKO
Mitch Banuelos: Holloway via Round 4 TKO
Ed Gallo: Holloway via UD
Brian Gerson: Holloway via Round 2 KO
Matt Bricker: Holloway via UD
Connor Deitrich: Holloway via Round 4 TKO
Patrick Auger: Holloway via UD
Ash Camyab: Holloway via Round 5 TKO
Ryan Hobbs: Holloway via Round 3 TKO
Andrew Benjamin: Edgar via UD
Frazer Krohn: Holloway via SD
Ryan Fortune: Holloway via Round 3 TKO
McKenzie Guardiero: Holloway via Round 2 KO
Suraj Sukumar: Holloway via UD

Staff picking Holloway: 16
Staff picking Edgar: 1

Featured image:
Embed from Getty Images


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here