Asian MMA

MMASucka’s ONE Championship: A New Tomorrow Staff Picks

Image for MMASucka’s ONE Championship: A New Tomorrow Staff Picks

Just like that: MMASucka staff picks are back and ready for 2020. Kicking off the calendar year will be ONE Championship: A New Tomorrow going down Friday morning, January 10 from the Impact Arena in Bangkok, Thailand. The preliminary card will begin at 6:30am ET (3:30am PT) on various social media platforms and the ONE Super App with the main card at 8:30am ET (5:30am PT) on the Bleacher Report App.

The Fights

Muay Thai takes center stage for the main event between flyweight champ Rodtang Jitmuangnon and challenger Jonathan Haggerty. The two rematch after their first match just over five months ago, Rodtang defending his belt by unanimous decision.

Our featured mixed martial arts fight will come in the co-main event between Nong Stamp Fairtex and Puja Tomar in the atomweight division. Fairtex currently holds two straps with ONE being the reigning 115 pound queen in both Muay Thai and kickboxing. She sits undefeated thus far through three MMA fights, most recently shutting down Jackson Wink’s Bi Nguyen by decision. A victory would put Fairtex one step closer to becoming a three-combat organizational champion, a feat that would put her in a class of all-time elite. Her opponent, India’s Tomar, looks to be the one to shock the world. The former Wushu champion will be competing in her fifth fight with ONE looking to back up her only promotional win over Priscilla Gaol last January. Tomar looks to challenge Fairtex on the feet, owning three knockouts of her own whilst yet to be stopped in her career by strikes.

Other fighters competing on the card as part of our staff picks include thrilling striker Thanh Le, rising star & firefighter Joey Pierotti, and the five-fight win streak of Japan’s Ayaka Miura. Check out our staff picks for ONE Championship: A New Tomorrow further below.

ProAmBelts | High Quality Custom Championship Belts

Staff Picks

Throughout the year, staff picks will be composed of five different MMA promotions. UFCBellatorONE, and RIZIN all appeared for the 2019 season and will make returns. The newest addition for the 2020 year will see the PFL including their regular season, playoffs, and championship card. A special staff picks bonus will be introduced and discussed regarding PFL’s playoff format as time gets closer.

Main cards will make up both UFC and Bellator picks, while the biggest fights to make up ONE, RIZIN, and PFL events will be used. The WINNER of staff picks will have a choice between receiving a championship belt from ProAmBelts or a championship chain from Championship Chains. The 2019 winner was awarded to Michael DeSantis, compiling a record of 321-178. Second-place Connor Deitrich collected a close score of 319-180 with third-place Ed Gallo not far behind totaling at 312-183.

Check out our staff picks for ONE Championship: A New Tomorrow below.

Staff Records following the 2020 Season:

1. Michael DeSantis: 321-178
2. Connor Deitrich: 319-180
3. Ed Gallo: 312-183
4. Jeremy Brand: 296-202
5. Mike Skytte: 294-205
6. Mitchell Banuelos: 289-176
7. Matt Bricker: 285-202
8. Ash Camyab: 254-196
9. Frazer Krohn: 192-139
10. Ryan Hobbs: 182-139
11. Andrew Benjamin: 146-99
12. McKenzie Guardiero: 144-110
13. Dan Rose: 114-67
14. Mike Lynch: 76-65

Maira Mazar (6-2) vs. Ayaka Miura (9-2, 1 NC)

Jeremy Brand: Miura via UD
Wesley Riddle: Miura via Round 1 SUB
Mike Skytte: Miura via Round 1 SUB
Michael DeSantis: Miura via Round 1 SUB
Mitchell Banuelos: Mazar via UD
Ed Gallo: Mazar via UD
Matt Bricker: Mazar via UD
Connor Deitrich: Miura via Round 3 SUB
Ash Camyab: Mazar via UD
Ryan Hobbs: Miura via UD
Andrew Benjamin: Miura via UD
Frazer Krohn: Miura via UD
McKenzie Guardiero: Mazar via Round 2 TKO
Dan Rose: Miura via Round 3 SUB
Mike Lynch: Mazar via Round 1 TKO
Ashwin Viswanathan: Miura via Round 1 SUB

Staff picking Mazar: 6
Staff picking Miura: 10

Raimond Magomedaliev (5-1) vs. Joey Pierotti (12-1)

Jeremy Brand: Magomedaliev via UD
Wesley Riddle: Magomedaliev via Round 2 TKO
Mike Skytte: Magomedaliev via Round 2 TKO
Michael DeSantis: Magomedaliev via Round 2 TKO
Mitchell Banuelos: Magomedaliev via UD
Ed Gallo: Magomedaliev via UD
Matt Bricker: Magomedaliev via UD
Connor Deitrich: Magomedaliev via Round 1 TKO
Ash Camyab: Pierotti via Round 3 TKO
Ryan Hobbs: Magomedaliev via UD
Andrew Benjamin: Magomedaliev via Round 3 SUB
Frazer Krohn: Magomedaliev via UD
McKenzie Guardiero: Pierotti via SD
Dan Rose: Magomedaliev via UD
Mike Lynch: Pierotti via UD
Ashwin Viswanathan: Pierotti via Round 1 SUB

Staff picking Magomedaliev: 12
Staff picking Pierotti: 4

Thanh Le (10-2) vs. Ryogo Takahashi (13-3)

Jeremy Brand: Le via Round 1 TKO
Wesley Riddle: Le via Round 1 TKO
Mike Skytte: Takahashi via UD
Michael DeSantis: Le via Round 1 TKO
Mitchell Banuelos: Le via UD
Ed Gallo: Le via Round 1 TKO
Matt Bricker: Le via Round 1 TKO
Connor Deitrich: Le via Round 2 TKO
Ash Camyab: Le via UD
Ryan Hobbs: Le via UD
Andrew Benjamin: Le via Round 1 TKO
Frazer Krohn: Le via Round 2 TKO
McKenzie Guardiero: Le via Round 2 TKO
Dan Rose: Le via Round 1 TKO
Mike Lynch: Le via Round 1 TKO
Ashwin Viswanathan: Le via Round 1 TKO

Staff picking Le: 15
Staff picking Takahashi: 1

Stamp Fairtex (3-0) vs. Puja Tomar (4-3)

Jeremy Brand: Fairtex via UD
Wesley Riddle: Fairtex via UD
Mike Skytte: Fairtex via UD
Michael DeSantis: Fairtex via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Fairtex via UD
Ed Gallo: Fairtex via UD
Matt Bricker: Fairtex via UD
Connor Deitrich: Fairtex via UD
Ash Camyab: Fairtex via UD
Ryan Hobbs: Tomar via UD
Andrew Benjamin: Fairtex via Round 2 TKO
Frazer Krohn: Fairtex via UD
McKenzie Guardiero: Fairtex via UD
Dan Rose: Fairtex via UD
Mike Lynch: Tomar via UD
Ashwin Viswanathan: Fairtex via UD

Staff picking Fairtex: 14
Staff picking Tomar: 2


ONE Championship: A New Tomorrow

Fighters pose for the camera ahead of their respected ONE Championship: A New Tomorrow fights taking place Friday, January 10 from the Impact Arena in Bangkok, Thailand (photo credits to ONE Championship)


Share this article

Wesley Riddle is a 25-year-old writer out of Harrisonburg, Virginia and a recent graduate from Roanoke College in Salem, Virginia, having obtained a Bachelor's Degree in Health and Physical Education. Watching the draw between Frankie Edgar and Gray Maynard from 2011 sparked his interest in the sport of mixed martial arts. He created "All That MMA" on Twitter, which came to birth in December of 2013. He would join with MMASucka in the later quarter of 2016. Some of Riddle's hobbies include music, playing golf, watching horror movies, and working with non-profit organizations throughout his community. You can follow him on Twitter at @AllThatMMA or @WesleyRiddleMMA, and on Instagram @WesleyRiddle.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *