After Glimmer of Hope, UFC 254 Will Remain Closed to Fans

UFC 254
ABU DHABI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES - SEPTEMBER 27: Khabib Nurmagomedov corners Zubaira Tukhugov of Russia before facing Hakeem Dawodu of Canada in their featherweight bout during UFC 253 inside Flash Forum on UFC Fight Island on September 27, 2020 in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. (Photo by Josh Hedges/Zuffa LLC)

This likely won’t come as a surprise to most, but this weekend’s UFC 254 will once again be behind closed doors. There was a hope that the event would be open to fans for the first time since the COVID-19 pandemic, but time, unfortunately, ran out on that possibility.

UFC 254 Remains Closed to Fans

According to a report from ESPN‘s Brett Okamoto, there was a last-minute plan by the UFC invite fans to this week’s event. The plan could not come to fruition in time, but there will be a select number of people invited to join the event. This is slight progress towards getting events back to feeling “normal”, but there is still much to be done.

UFC 254 will be headlined by a lightweight title unification bout between undefeated superstar Khabib Nurmagomedov and interim champion Justin Gaethje. The co-main event features what will likely be a title eliminator in the middleweight division between former champion Robert Whittaker and surging contender Jared Cannonier.

Be sure to stay tuned to MMA Sucka this week for all UFC 254 coverage, from the pre-fight buildup to the post-fight news. The highly anticipated card is set to begin at 10:30 am ET/7:30am PT on ESPN+ with the early prelims, followed by the regular prelims, also on ESPN+, at 12:00pm ET/9:00 am PT. Finally, the main card will cap the event off on pay-per-view at 2:00 pm ET/11:00 am PT.

***

Stay tuned right here at MMA Sucka for more live streams as well as videos highlighting the top fighters, commentators, coaches, promoters, and other names in MMA and combat sports. We also bring you great offers on the latest MMA products and merchandise. You can also subscribe to our YouTube channel for regular updates and all the latest fight news. You can also check out our sister site, at TheFightBuzz.com for the latest from the world of MMA and other combat sports.

Main Image:

Embed from Getty Images

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here