Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

Submission Underground 20 Results

Image for Submission Underground 20 Results

Just when fans thought Submission Underground was finished for the year following Submission Underground 19 this past Sunday, the organization surprised fans by announcing another event in less than a week’s time. It returns with Submission Underground 20, which will be headlined once again by the organization’s champion, Mason Fowler.

Fowler will be defending his belt for the third time against Bellator heavyweight champion and former light heavyweight champion Ryan Bader. A former NCAA wrestling standout, Bader presents a different challenge than previous defenses. Both Craig Jones and Vinny Magalhaes are decorated Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu practitioners, along with former judo Olympic gold medalist Satoshi Ishii. Fowler won all of his previous defenses in the overtime ruleset.

The aforementioned Jones and Ishii are set to face each other in the co-main event. Jones has been a mainstay on Submission Underground cards, only losing to Fowler. Ishii, meanwhile, will look to pick up his first win for the organization after losing in his first attempt last Sunday. Former UFC fighters CB DollowayPearl Gonzalez, and Gabriel Gonzaga are also competing on the main card, facing organization staples Richie MartinezGillian Robertson, and Hunter Colvin respectively.

The preliminary card also features a bevy of Submission Underground mainstays. Andy Varela returns to face Ben Egli, while Micah Brakefield will face newcomer Benji Silva. Rounding out Submission Underground 20 are matchups between Kristin Mikkelson and Rita GribbenJuan Bernardo and Alex Larmey, and John Simon and Charlie Gilpin.

Stay tuned to MMA Sucka for up-to-date results on Submission Underground 20, happening live on UFC Fight Pass tonight at 6pm ET/3pm PT.

Submission Underground 20 Results

Main Card

Mason Fowler def. Ryan Bader– for SUG Absolute Championship– via submission (armbar), 1:39 of Regulation

Craig Jones def. Satoshi Ishii via submission (rear-naked choke), 2:08 of Regulation

Richie Martinez def. CB Dolloway via submission (armbar), 0:55 of Regulation

Gillian Robertson def. Pearl Gonzalez via submission (rear-naked choke), 4:11 of Regulation

Gabriel Gonzaga def. Hunter Colvin via submission (armbar), 1:06 of Overtime Round 1 (top half)

Preliminary Card

Andy Varela def. Ben Egli via submission (rear-naked choke), 4:33 of Regulation

Micah Brakefield def. Benji Silva via submission (armbar), 0:07 of Overtime Round 3 (top half)

Kristin Mikkelson def. Rita Gribben via fastest escape time after Overtime periods

Alex Larmey def. Juan Bernardo via submission (arm triangle choke), 0:22 of Overtime Round 1 (top half)

John Simon def. Charlie Gilpin via submission (rear-naked choke), 0:23 of Overtime Round 1 (bottom half)

Share this article

Nate Freeman is from Birmingham, AL, and has been an MMA fan since 2013 after buying UFC Undisputed 2009 for $2 from a second-hand electronics store.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *