MMASucka’s UFC on ESPN 7 Staff Picks

WASHINGTON, DC - DECEMBER 06: (L-R) Rob Font and Ricky Simon face off during the UFC Fight Night weigh-in on December 6, 2019 in Washington, DC. (Photo by Jeff Bottari/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images)

MMASucka staff picks are in for the second card of the weekend. Later this evening, December 7, will see UFC on ESPN 7 take place from the Capital One Arena in Washington, D.C. The main card will begin at 9:00pm ET (6:00pm PT) live on ESPN. Check out our staff picks from Friday morning’s ONE Championship: Mark of Greatness event.

The Fights

A clash of dangerous heavyweights will be in store for our main event between kickboxers Alistair Overeem and Jairzinho Rozenstruik. Overeem was originally slated to take on Walt Harris who pulled out in search of his step-daughter Aniah Blanchard. Our thoughts and prayers are continued to their family at this time.

Overeem has defeated the likes of numerous notables throughout his 63 mixed martial arts fights. Twenty-three knockouts and seventeen submissions put him at an 89% finishing rate, making “The Reem” a terrifying threat anytime inside the octagon. The former Strikeforce and DREAM heavyweight champion currently rides a two-fight, first-round finishing win streak. His opponent, Rozenstruik, will look to stop Overeem’s potential return to stardom in only his fourth UFC appearance (all in 2019). The undefeated talent has finished eight of his nine opponents, the lone decision coming last year by split to Andrey Kovalev in RIZIN. Can Rozenstruik capitalize on short notice against the biggest test of his career? We will find out tonight.

The co-main event will see Marina Rodriguez and Cynthia Calvillo look to make a statement in their strawweight division. Rodriguez looks to keep her undefeated streak intact with a potential thirteenth victory while Calvillo hopes for a third-straight win since dropping her first professional defeat to Carla Esparza in 2017. Unfortunately, Calvillo missed weight by 4.5 pounds forfeiting 30% of her purse to Rodriguez.

See the five fights counted for MMASucka staff picks at UFC on ESPN 7 further below.

ProAmBelts | High Quality Custom Championship Belts

Staff Picks

Throughout the year, staff picks will be composed of four different MMA promotions: UFCBellatorONE, and RIZIN. Main cards will make up both UFC and Bellator picks, while the biggest fights to make up ONE and RIZIN events will be used. The WINNER of staff picks will have a choice between receiving a championship belt from ProAmBelts or a championship chain from Championship Chains. The 2018 winner was awarded to Michael DeSantis, compiling a record of 202-101.

Check out our MMASucka staff picks for UFC on ESPN 7 below.

Staff Records after Bellator London 2:

1. Michael DeSantis: 292-161
2. Connor Deitrich: 288-165
3. Ed Gallo: 280-169
4. Mike Skytte: 266-187
5. Jeremy Brand: 262-190
6. Mitchell Banuelos: 261-163
7. Matt Bricker: 254-187
8. Ash Camyab: 235-180
9. Frazer Krohn: 163-122
10. Ryan Hobbs: 146-129
11. Andrew Benjamin: 121-87
12. McKenzie Guardiero: 116-92
13. Tanner Russ: 98-57
14. Dan Rose: 87-50
15. Mike Lynch: 49-51

Rob Font (16-4) vs. Ricky Simon (15-2)

Jeremy Brand: Simon via Round 2 TKO
Mike Skytte: Simon via SD
Michael DeSantis: Font via Round 2 TKO
Mitchell Banuelos: Font via UD
Ed Gallo: Font via Round 2 TKO
Matt Bricker: Simon via UD
Connor Deitrich: Font via Round 1 TKO
Ash Camyab: Simon via UD
Ryan Hobbs: Font via UD
Frazer Krohn: Simon via UD
McKenzie Guardiero: Simon via UD
Tanner Russ: Simon via UD
Dan Rose: Simon via Round 3 TKO
Mike Lynch: Font via Round 1 TKO

Staff picking Font: 6
Staff picking Simon: 8

Cody Stamann (18-2) vs. Song Yadong (14-3, 2 NC)

Jeremy Brand: Yadong via UD
Mike Skytte: Yadong via Round 1 TKO
Michael DeSantis: Stamann via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Yadong via Round 2 TKO
Ed Gallo: Stamann via UD
Matt Bricker: Yadong via UD
Connor Deitrich: Yadong via Round 3 TKO
Ash Camyab: Stamann via Round 2 TKO
Ryan Hobbs: Yadong via Round 2 TKO
Frazer Krohn: Yadong via SD
McKenzie Guardiero: Yadong via Round 2 TKO
Tanner Russ: Yadong via Round 1 TKO
Dan Rose: Yadong via Round 1 TKO
Mike Lynch: Yadong via Round 1 TKO

Staff picking Stamann: 3
Staff picking Yadong: 11

Aspen Ladd (8-1) vs. Yana Kunitskaya (12-4, 1 NC)

Jeremy Brand: Ladd via UD
Mike Skytte: Ladd via SD
Michael DeSantis: Ladd via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Ladd via UD
Ed Gallo: Ladd via UD
Matt Bricker: Ladd via UD
Connor Deitrich: Ladd via UD
Ash Camyab: Ladd via UD
Ryan Hobbs: Ladd via UD
Frazer Krohn: Ladd via Round 2 TKO
McKenzie Guardiero: Ladd via UD
Tanner Russ: Ladd via UD
Dan Rose: Ladd via UD
Mike Lynch: Ladd via UD

Staff picking Ladd: 14
Staff picking Kunitskaya: 0

Stefan Struve (29-11) vs. Ben Rothwell (36-12)

Jeremy Brand: Rothwell via Round 2 TKO
Mike Skytte: Rothwell via UD
Michael DeSantis: Struve via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Struve via UD
Ed Gallo: Rothwell via Round 1 TKO
Matt Bricker: Struve via Round 1 TKO
Connor Deitrich: Struve via UD
Ash Camyab: Struve via Round 1 SUB
Ryan Hobbs: Rothwell via UD
Frazer Krohn: Struve via Round 3 SUB
McKenzie Guardiero: Rothwell via UD
Tanner Russ: Struve via Round 1 TKO
Dan Rose: Rothwell via Round 1 SUB
Mike Lynch: Rothwell via UD

Staff picking Struve: 7
Staff picking Rothwell: 7

Marina Rodriguez (12-0-1) vs. Cynthia Calvillo (8-1)

Jeremy Brand: Calvillo via UD
Mike Skytte: Calvillo via UD
Michael DeSantis: Rodriguez via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Calvillo via UD
Ed Gallo: Calvillo via SD
Matt Bricker: Calvillo via Round 2 SUB
Connor Deitrich: Rodriguez via SD
Ash Camyab: Calvillo via UD
Ryan Hobbs: Calvillo via Round 2 SUB
Frazer Krohn: Calvillo via UD
McKenzie Guardiero: Calvillo via UD
Tanner Russ: Calvillo via UD
Dan Rose: Rodriguez via Round 1 SUB
Mike Lynch: Calvillo via UD

Staff picking Rodriguez: 3
Staff picking Calvillo: 11

Alistair Overeem (45-17, 1 NC) vs. Jairzinho Rozenstruik (9-0)

Jeremy Brand: Rozenstruik via Round 1 TKO
Mike Skytte: Rozenstruik via Round 2 TKO
Michael DeSantis: Overeem via Round 2 TKO
Mitchell Banuelos: Overeem via Round 2 SUB
Ed Gallo: Overeem via Round 2 SUB
Matt Bricker: Rozenstruik via Round 1 TKO
Connor Deitrich: Overeem via Round 2 TKO
Ash Camyab: Overeem via Round 3 TKO
Ryan Hobbs: Rozenstruik via Round 2 TKO
Frazer Krohn: Rozenstruik via Round 2 TKO
McKenzie Guardiero: Rozenstruik via Round 1 TKO
Tanner Russ: Rozenstruik via Round 1 TKO
Dan Rose: Rozenstruik via Round 1 TKO
Mike Lynch: Rozenstruik via Round 1 TKO

Staff picking Overeem: 5
Staff picking Rozenstruik: 9

Embed from Getty Images

Previous articleKSW 52 Results
Next articleCombate Americas 51 Results
Wesley Riddle is a 25-year-old writer out of Harrisonburg, Virginia and a recent graduate from Roanoke College in Salem, Virginia, having obtained a Bachelor's Degree in Health and Physical Education. Watching the draw between Frankie Edgar and Gray Maynard from 2011 sparked his interest in the sport of mixed martial arts. He created "All That MMA" on Twitter, which came to birth in December of 2013. He would join with MMASucka in the later quarter of 2016. Some of Riddle's hobbies include music, playing golf, watching horror movies, and working with non-profit organizations throughout his community. You can follow him on Twitter at @AllThatMMA or @WesleyRiddleMMA, and on Instagram @WesleyRiddle.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here