MMASucka’s UFC Fight Night 186 Staff Picks

Image for MMASucka’s UFC Fight Night 186 Staff Picks

MMASucka staff picks have reached the end of February. UFC Fight Night 186 will take place later this evening, February 27 from the UFC APEX in Las Vegas, Nevada. The event comes as the promotion’s 25th event from the 2019-constructed facility. Main card activity will begin at 8:00pm ET (5:00pm PT) live for subscribers on ESPN+.

The Fights

Heavyweights Jairzinho Rozenstruik and Ciryl Gane look to continue their push towards the top of their division in tonight’s main event. Rozenstruik began his career with ten straight victories before encountering his first and only defeat last May to Francis Ngannou. He would rebound successfully in August with a second-round finish of Junior dos Santos, his tenth win by knockout. His opponent, Gane, remains undefeated through his seven professional MMA bouts. A 3-0 run in 2019 followed by a knockout last year over the aforementioned dos Santos has propelled the French fighter to his first UFC main event.

[pickup_prop id=”5057″]

The co-main event will see Nikita Krylov and Magomed Ankalaev attempt to steal the show at 205 pounds. Ukraine’s Krylov returns after a near-year hiatus following his decision over Johnny Walker. Ankalaev targets his sixth-straight victory inside the octagon following 2020 stoppages over Ion Cutelaba.

A main card rematch between Angela Hill and Ashley Yoder was scheduled. However, just a few short hours ago, the fight was pulled following a positive COVID-19 test in Yoder’s team. In turn, only five fights will be counted for our staff picks this evening. See those for UFC Fight Night 186 further below.

UFC 246

Staff Picks

Throughout the calendar year, staff picks will be composed of main card fights from UFC and Bellator events. PFL will make its debut beginning in April, along with an additional promotion to-be-determined.

The WINNER of staff picks in 2021 will have a choice between receiving a custom-made championship belt from ProAmBelts or chain from Championship Chains. For the third straight year, Michael DeSantis captured the 2020 victory compiling a record of 201-88.

See our UFC Fight Night 186: Rozenstruik vs. Gane staff picks below.

Staff Records after UFC Fight Night 185:

1. Wesley Riddle: 18-11
2T. Mitchell Banuelos: 16-13
2T. Nate Freeman: 16-13
4. Michael DeSantis: 15-14
5T. Jeremy Brand: 14-15
5T. Ash Camyab: 14-15
5T. Dan Rose: 14-15
8T. Mike Lynch: 13-11
8T. Kenny Lee: 13-16
10T. Matt Bricker: 12-17
10T. Frazer Krohn: 12-17
10T. Joshua Yule: 12-17
13. Andrew Benjamin: 11-18
14. Michael McKenzie: 5-5

*Note – not all staff pick for every event*

Alex Caceres (17-12, 1 NC) vs. Kevin Croom (21-12, 1 NC)

Jeremy Brand: Caceres via UD
Wesley Riddle: Caceres via SD
Michael DeSantis: Caceres via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Caceres via UD
Matt Bricker: Caceres via UD
Ash Camyab: Caceres via UD
Andrew Benjamin: Caceres via UD
Frazer Krohn: Caceres via UD
Dan Rose: Caceres via Round 2 SUB
Mike Lynch: Croom via UD
Nate Freeman: Caceres via UD
Joshua Yule: Caceres via UD
Tim Wheaton: Caceres via UD

Staff picking Caceres: 12
Staff picking Croom: 1

Pedro Munhoz (18-5, 1 NC) vs. Jimmie Rivera (23-4)

Jeremy Brand: Rivera via Round 2 TKO
Wesley Riddle: Rivera via SD
Michael DeSantis: Rivera via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Munhoz via UD
Matt Bricker: Rivera via UD
Ash Camyab: Rivera via UD
Andrew Benjamin: Munhoz via UD
Frazer Krohn: Munhoz via UD
Dan Rose: Rivera via UD
Mike Lynch: Rivera via UD
Nate Freeman: Rivera via SD
Joshua Yule: Munhoz via UD
Tim Wheaton: Rivera via UD

Staff picking Munhoz: 4
Staff picking Rivera: 9

Montana De La Rosa (11-6) vs. Mayra Bueno Silva (7-1)

Jeremy Brand: De La Rosa via UD
Wesley Riddle: Bueno Silva via UD
Michael DeSantis: Bueno Silva via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: De La Rosa via Round 2 SUB
Matt Bricker: Bueno Silva via Round 2 SUB
Ash Camyab: Bueno Silva via UD
Andrew Benjamin: De La Rosa via UD
Frazer Krohn: De La Rosa via Round 3 SUB
Dan Rose: Bueno Silva via Round 1 SUB
Mike Lynch: De La Rosa via Round 1 SUB
Nate Freeman: De La Rosa via Round 1 SUB
Joshua Yule: De La Rosa via UD
Tim Wheaton: Bueno Silva via UD

Staff picking De La Rosa: 7
Staff picking Bueno Silva: 6

Nikita Krylov (27-7) vs. Magomed Ankalaev (13-1)

Jeremy Brand: Ankalaev via UD
Wesley Riddle: Ankalaev via Round 1 TKO
Michael DeSantis: Ankalaev via Round 1 TKO
Mitchell Banuelos: Krylov via UD
Matt Bricker: Ankalaev via Round 1 TKO
Ash Camyab: Ankalaev via Round 1 TKO
Andrew Benjamin: Krylov via UD
Frazer Krohn: Ankalaev via UD
Dan Rose: Ankalaev via Round 1 TKO
Mike Lynch: Krylov via Round 2 SUB
Nate Freeman: Ankalaev via SD
Joshua Yule: Ankalaev via Round 2 TKO
Tim Wheaton: Ankalaev via Round 2 TKO

Staff picking Krylov: 3
Staff picking Ankalaev: 10

Jairzinho Rozenstruik (11-1) vs. Ciryl Gane (7-0)

Jeremy Brand: Gane via Round 2 TKO
Wesley Riddle: Gane via Round 3 TKO
Michael DeSantis: Gane via Round 3 SUB
Mitchell Banuelos: Rozenstruik via Round 2 TKO
Matt Bricker: Gane via Round 1 TKO
Ash Camyab: Gane via Round 2 TKO
Andrew Benjamin: Rozenstruik via Round 1 TKO
Frazer Krohn: Rozenstruik via Round 4 TKO
Dan Rose: Gane via Round 2 TKO
Mike Lynch: Rozenstruik via UD
Nate Freeman: Gane via Round 1 TKO
Joshua Yule: Gane via UD
Tim Wheaton: Gane via Round 1 TKO

Staff picking Rozenstruik: 4
Staff picking Gane: 9

Embed from Getty Images

Share this article

Wesley Riddle is a 29-year-old writer residing in Raleigh, North Carolina from Harrisonburg, Virginia. He has been part of the MMASucka team since the fourth quarter of 2016. Additionally, he serves as a writer with partner site Last Word on Motorsports.

Leave a comment