Fury FC

Fury FC 71 Results

Image for Fury FC 71 Results

Fury Fighting Championship returns to Escapade 2001 in Houston, Texas to host Fury FC 71: Richardson vs. Quintana. With 15 fights lined up for the day, Fury FC is ready to but on memorable event to end the year. Closing out the evening will be an action-packed featherweight matchup between Nate Richardson (9-4) and Andrés Quintana (19-4).

The first half of the main event is a former GLORY Kickboxer coming off a disappointing split decision loss to Huseyn Aliev. Despite the outcome, Nate was looking very sharp and some people thought he should’ve retained his belt. He attempts to put that loss behind him and take on another fighter who suffered a loss to the champ in hopes of getting rematch for the title. Initially, Andrés Quintana went on an impressive run since appearing on The Ultimate Fighter. He won 8 times in a row fighting for Combate Global until he losing his title shot against Bruno Cannetti. Now fighting for Fury FC, Andres is looking for his own rematch against the featherweight champ and another chance to fight in the UFC.

The co-main event features a lightweight bout between Michael Murphy (7-4-1) and Armus Guyton (7-3). Michael had a rougher start to his MMA career starting out just 2-3. Since then he’s 5-1-1 and is coming off of a rear naked choke finish his last time out. He looks to keep the momentum going against another fighter coming off his own submission win. Armus “Seagoat” Guyton has a game just as impressive as his nickname. He currently has finished all seven of his professional fights and has fought against some other tough prospects such as Billy Goff and Solomon Renfro. Tonight, he looks to stop Michael Murphy in his tracks and start a win streak of his own.

There are plenty of other talented fighters to keep an eye on tonight’s stacked event. Fury FC veterans Cameron Smotherman (5-3) and Casey Jones (9-6) are matched up for a bantamweight scrap. Rising prospect Sam Kilmer (4-1) looks to rebound from his first professional loss. Former TUF contestant Christina Marks (8-11) makes her Fury FC debut. Joshua Aleman (2-0) is also an exciting amateur prospect coming off of a flying knee knockout in his last fight.

MMA Sucka will have live coverage on Fury FC 71: Richardson vs. Quintana. Starting with the preliminary card at 3:30pm ET/12:30pm PT on Fury FC’s Facebook Page. Followed by the main card at 5:30pm ET/2:30pm PT on UFC Fight Pass.

Fury FC 71 Results

Main Card

Nate Richardson (10-4) def. Andrés Quintana (19-5) via TKO (Hooks to the Body) at 1:53 of Round 3

Michael Murphy (8-4-1) def. Armus Guyton (7-4) via Majority Decision (29-27, 28-28, 29-27)

Cameron Smotherman (6-3) def. Casey Jones (9-7) via Split Decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Derrick Ageday (7-8) def. Sam Kilmer (4-2) via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Rainn Guerrero (5-1) def. Christina Marks (8-12) via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Angel Luis Cruz (8-4) def. Colin Wright (9-7) via Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 3:46 of Round 1

Preliminary Card

Gabriel Macário (7-7) def. Frank Meno (3-5) via TKO (Knees and Punches) at 0:50 of Round 2

Zachary Reese (3-0) def. Shahriar Zolfaghari (0-1) via TKO (Uppercut to Ground Strikes) at 0:50 of Round 1

Luke Crawford (2-1) def. Brexton Everett (1-5) via Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 0:42 of Round 1

Jordan Plutin (4-4) def. Charles Jones (1-2) via TKO (Ground and Pound) at 1:39 of Round 1

Amateur MMA

Bryan James (1-0) def. Rodrigo Barrera (0-1) via Split Decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Jared Gallegos (3-0) def. Cade Foradory (0-1) via Unanimous Decision

Joshua Aleman (3-0) def. Gerardo Lazaro (0-1) via KO (Flying Knee) at 1:43 of Round 1

Sean Magnus (1-0) def. Ryan Cooke (0-1) via Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 0:51 of Round 1

Conner Caswell (3-2) def. Isaiah San Miguel (0-3) via TKO (Ground and Pound) at 2:46 of Round 1

Share this article

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *