UFC Vegas 84: Ankalaev vs. Walker 2 Results

Image for UFC Vegas 84: Ankalaev vs. Walker 2 Results

The UFC’s first event of the year is here.

Title Implications At Light Heavyweight

After almost a month off, the MMA world leader is back with another fight night. Light heavyweight contenders Magomed Ankalaev and Johnny Walker meet in the main event of UFC Vegas 84 (see our staff picks here). The potential title eliminator goes down in the UFC Apex in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Ankalaev and Walker are no strangers to each other as they previously fought at UFC 294 in October. It was a controversial contest as the Russian blasted the grounded Walker with an illegal knee. Walker was deemed unable to continue and the fight was ultimately called off by officials.

The no-contest ruling wouldn’t stop Walker and Ankalaev from trying to engage with each other post-fight, though. After three months, they’ll finally get the chance to run it back— the right way.

A title fight with reigning champion Alex Pereira could possibly await the main event winner later this year.

The Rest Of The Card

UFC veteran Jim Miller is also back this weekend against Mexico’s Gabriel Benítez. It’s no secret that Miller wants to fight at UFC 300, but he must get past ‘Moggly’ first. The lightweight matchup will co-headline UFC Vegas 84. 

#13 ranked Ricky Simon defends his spot against rising contender Mario Bautista. Bautista enters the bout on a five-fight win streak while Simon is coming off a main event loss to Song Ya Dong. Simon was also riding a five-fight win streak prior to his last outing in April.

Former UFC Heavyweight Champion Andrei Arlovski returns to the Octagon against Waldo Cortes-Acosta. The 44 year-old Arlovski might be past his prime, but he’ll look to show that age is just a number with a victory over a top prospect.

UFC Fight Night: Ankalaev vs. Walker 2 Results

Main Card (7pm ET)

Magomed Ankalaev defeats Johnny Walker via KO (punch) in round 2 (2:42)

Jim Miller defeats Gabriel Benítez via submission (rear-naked choke) in round 3 (3:25)

Mario Bautista defeats Ricky Simón via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

Brunno Ferreira defeats Phil Hawes via TKO (punches) in round 1 (4:55)

Waldo Cortes-Acosta defeats Andrei Arlovski via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Prelims (5pm ET)

Preston Parsons defeats Matthew Semelsberger via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Marcus McGhee defeats Gaston Bolaños via TKO (punches) in round 2 (3:29)

Farid Basharat defeats Taylor Lapilus via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Jean Silva defeats Westin Wilson via TKO (punches) in round 1 (4:12)

Early Prelims (4pm ET)

Nikolas Motta defeats Tom Nolan via TKO (punches) in round 1 (1:03)

Joshua Van defeats Felipe Bunes via TKO (punches) in round 2 (4:31)

Share this article

Christopher De Santiago is a journalist out of Texas with years of experience covering MMA. Follow him on X: @chris_dsantiago

Leave a comment