BC Fight Scene

Matt Dwyer and Shonie Carter injured, Leo Xavier and Dejan Kajic new BFL 26 main event


Matt Dwyer and Shonie Carter were set to square off in the main event at Battlefield Fight League 26, but both men have been forced to withdraw due to injury. The new main event will be between Leo Xavier and Dejan Kajic, which was formerly the co-main event. Dwyer and Carter will still fight for Dwyer’s title at the January 18th BFL card.

Matt Dwyer and Shonie Carter injured, Leo Xavier and Dejan Kajic new BFL 26 main event

MMASucka.com learned of the injuries and the switch from BFL officials late Saturday night.

Xavier (2-0) is undefeated in his professional career at 2-0, but is riding a seven-fight winning streak dating all the way back to 2011. At BFL 24, Xavier had his toughest test to date against the always dangerous “Mitey” Micah Brakefield. The co-main event battle went Xavier’s way – he was able to knock out Brakefield in just 31-seconds to earn himself the title of BFL Middleweight Champion.

Kajic (3-2-1 1NC) has been fighting pro since 2010 and most recently finished Zach Manywounds at Rumble in the Cage 48 earlier this month. This fight will be the third of 2013 for the product of Dynamic MMA in Richmond, BC.

As MMASucka.com announced late last week, the main event at BFL 26 will be for the welterweight championship, as Matt Dwyer looks to defend his belt against UFC vet Shonie Carter.

BFL 26 takes place on December 7 from the Hard Rock Casino (formerly known as Red Robinson Show Theatre) in Coquitlam, BC. Along with the main event title fight, BFL will have two other titles up for grabs as well. Keep it locked to MMASucka.com for more news on BFL 26 as it arises.

Check out the fight card below.

Fight Card:

Leo Xavier (2-0, 1-0 BFL) VS   Dejan Kajic (3-2) weltwerweight
Stu Deleurme (1-0) VS   Ash Mashreghi (0-3) Welterweight
Andre Silva (0-0, 5-3 ammy) VS   TBA Featherweight
Jared Revel (5-0-1, 2-0 BFL) VS   Jer Kornelsen (4-4 BFL) revel’s ammy Middleweight title
Oren Hanscomb (6-3, 2-3 BFL) VS   Cleve Bently (1-2 BFL)Silva’s ammy Featherweight Title
Kirk Tse (4-1 BFL) VS   Craig Mclean (5-2, 1-1 BFL) BFL ammy Bantamweight title
Oliver Vajda (9-1, 1-1 BFL) VS   Bradley Nicholson (3-1, 2-0 BFL) 140 catchweight
Robin Laybourn (3-1) VS   TBA Heavyweight
Christian Allart (3-3, 1-1 BFL) VS   Russ Mccumber (3-3 1-0 BFL) Lightweight
Jayden Martin (1-0 BFL) VS   Mitch Burke (0-1-1) Welterweight
Geoff Bonarek (1-0 BFL) VS   TBA Bantamweight
Rafael Escobar (1-1, 1-0 BFL) VS   Marco Viedas (0-0) bantamweight
Andrew Strong (0-0) VS   Mazdak Porbolough (0-0) Middleweight
Cole Smith (0-0) VS   Brandon Fratino (0-0) featherweight
Kolten Higginbottom (2-3, 0-2 BFL) VS   Navid Mirzaiy (0-0) 160 catchweight

Share this article

Jeremy Brand is an experienced MMA writer and columnist. He is the founder of MMASucka.com, and has represented the company with media credentials at many mixed martial arts fights. Jeremy is also a black belt in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, training in BC, Canada.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *