XFC Results; No More Michigan?

XFC 27 poster

The XFC had their latest event, Frozen Fury, last night at the LC Walker Arena in Muskegon, Michigan. The main card was stacked from top to bottom and it showed with 3 of the 5 fights being a finish. The main event between Deivison Riberio and Farkhad Sharipov was a tournament final for the promotions vacant Featherweight title.

XFC Results; No More Michigan?

The most impressive finish of the night was a devastating spinning kick to the liver from one Dequan Townsend. It was a back and forth stand-up battle until the 3rd round. That is when Townsend through the highlight reel kick that will surely be part of an XFC promo video before we know it.

The surprise and submission of the night came in the nights co-main event when Dom O’Grady sunk in a rear naked choke in the second round. Eric Reynolds was suppose win this fight and secure himself as the number one contender in the lightweight division. While it’s no guarantee O’Grady is next in line for a title shot, he definitely put himself in a great position moving forward.

While the card was exciting and overall eventful, it did not go off without any issues. The fight between Dom Steele and Ryan Thomas was highly scrutinized and even left announcer Michael Schiavello and Pat Miletich scratching their heads. The fight was ruled a unanimous decision in favor of Steele, but it seemed evident to most that Thomas won the fight.  This isn’t the first time that Michigan has been subject to such controversy. In 2010 at UFC 123 there was an “issue” with the time keeping which caused the first round of a bout between Gerald Harris and Maiquel Falcao to end prematurely. It is hard to imagine any of the main organizations will be headed to Michigan any time soon.

Check out the results below.


Deivison Ribeiro def. Farkhad Sharipov via unanimous decision (50-45, 49-46, 50-45)
Dom O’Grady def. Eric Reynolds via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:42 of Round 2
Dave Courchaine def. Alexander Trevino via knockout (punch) at 0:37 of Round 2
Dequen Townsend def. Marcus Reynolds via knockout (body kick) at 2:52 of Round 3
J.P. Reese def. Daniel Swain via submission (arm-triangle choke) at 3:37 of Round 3
Dominique Steele def. Ryan Thomas via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 30-27)


Shamir Garcia def. Ray Lopez via submission at 4:32 of Round 3
Drew Morais def. David Rohn via submission (guillotine choke) at 2:09 of Round 1
Roy Saldana def. Andres Torres via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:34 of Round 2
Jacob Butler def. Joel Vincent via TKO (Strikes) at 2:15 of Round 1


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here