Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

Combat Jiu Jitsu Worlds 2021: The Featherweights Results

Image for Combat Jiu Jitsu Worlds 2021: The Featherweights Results

The final Combat Jiu Jitsu tournament takes place today, live from the Plaza De Toros in Cancun, Mexico. Combat Jiu Jitsu Worlds 2021: The Featherweights brings 16 competitors together in a tournament to determine the CJJ king of the 145-pound division.

For those unfamiliar with EBI tournaments, the rules are simple. There are no points or advantages, with a winner only determined with a submission. If no winner is determined during the 10-minute regulation time, there is are three overtime rounds. Much likeĀ Submission Underground, each fighter will be given a starting position in either an armbar position or back control. The fighter that gets a submission from their position quickest is declared the winner. If there is no submission, the grappler with the longest ride time will win the match.

Combat Jiu Jitsu adds an extra wrinkle to the rules- open palm strikes. The strikes can only be made to the body and head once both fighters are grounded. This adds the TKO as a potential method of victory.

The tournament features several recognizable names to MMA fans and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu fans alike. Dana White’s Contender Series and Fury FC veteran Diego Lopes, Bellator and Submission Underground veteran Cris Lencioni, and WSOF and CFFC veteran Tycen Lynn are all credentialed MMA fighters looking to earn their place in the championship. Meanwhile, previous CJJ Worlds competitors Jordan Holy, Kim Terra, Zack Schneider, Keith Krikorian, Gabriel Austin Daffron, Laird Anderson, David Weintraub, and Ben Eddy all vie for a shot at the belt. Newcomers Orlando Yeh, Mike Wacker, Ben Tapia, Mikey Zindler, and Dillon Masington will also attempt to prove themselves against the more seasoned competition.

The event also features the most high-profile matchup in the promotion’s history in a special match. One of the best grapplers around today, Australian wizard Craig Jones, will compete against legendary UFC lightweight and welterweight Donald Cerrone in the headliner of the three non-tournament matches. Reigning bantamweight CJJ Worlds champion Elias Anderson was originally scheduled to face UFC Hall of Famer Urijah Faber as well, but passport issues led to Mexican UFC and Bellator veteran “Goyito” Erik Perez replacing “The California Kid”.

Stay tuned to MMA Sucka for live updates on Combat Jiu Jitsu Worlds 2021: The Featherweights. The action begins at 6pm ET/3pm PT on UFC Fight Pass.

Combat Jiu Jitsu Worlds 2021: The Featherweights Results

Special Match

Craig Jones def. Donald Cerrone via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) at 5:14 of Regulation

Championship Round

Keith Krikorian def. Jordan Holy via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) in Top Half of First Overtime Round

Special Match

Elias Anderson def. Erik Perez via Submission (Armbar) at 3:34 of Regulation

Semifinal Round

Keith Krikorian def. Laird Anderson via Technical Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) at 5:30 of Regulation

Jordan Holy def. Cris Lencioni via Submission (Heel Hook) at 0:22 of Regulation

Quarterfinal Round

Laird Anderson def. Ben Eddy via Fastest Escape Time after Three Overtime Rounds

Keith Krikorian def. Gabriel Austin Daffron via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) at 1:22 of Regulation

Cris Lencioni def. Mike Wacker via Submission (Body Triangle/Spine Crank Combo) in Top Half of First Overtime Round

Jordan Holy def. Zack Schneider via Submission (Heel Hook) at 8:08 of Regulation

Opening Round

Ben Eddy def. Dillon Masington via Submission (Inverted Triangle Choke) at 5:03 of Regulation

Laird Anderson def. David Weintraub via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) in Bottom Half of First Overtime Round

Gabriel Austin Daffron def. Mikey Zindler via Submission (Heel Hook) at 1:20 of Regulation

Keith Krikorian def. Tycen Lynn via Submission (Heel Hook) at 5:54 of Regulation

Mike Wacker def. Ben Tapia via Fastest Escape Time after Three Overtime Rounds

Cris Lencioni def. Kim Terra via Verbal Submission (Retirement) after First Overtime Round

Zack Schneider def. Diego Lopes via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) at 1:19 of Regulation

Jordan Holy def. Orlando Yeh via Submission (Heel Hook) at 1:34 of Regulation

Share this article

Nate Freeman is from Birmingham, AL, and has been an MMA fan since 2013 after buying UFC Undisputed 2009 for $2 from a second-hand electronics store.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *