Fury FC

Fury FC 72 Results

Image for Fury FC 72 Results

Hosting their final show of the year, Fury Fighting Championship is back at Escapade 2001 in Houston, Texas to present Fury FC 72: Van vs. McLean. With 19 fights scheduled for the day, The Texas-based promotion is ready to close out 2023 in a big way. The night will end with a championship bout between two of the most talented flyweights in the regional scene.

The hard-hitting flyweights set to square off for the belt tonight will be Joshua Van (6-1) and Cleveland McLean (17-9). Joshua Van might’ve already proven that he’s a young prodigy ready for the next level after his last performance against Paris Moran earlier this year. The 21-year-old stopped his fellow highly touted prospect dead in his tracks with a knockout in the second round. With all 6 of his wins ending before the third round, Van will look to end the night early when he takes on a much more experienced Cleveland McLean. McLean is a pretty hard hitter himself racking up 9 knockouts throughout his pro career. He’s also riding a 5 fight win streak including a headkick knockout against DWCS vet Jacob Silva. Tonight will be the perfect test to find out who is truly ready for the next stage of their fight careers.

The co-main event of the night should be just as if not more entertaining when the always exciting Aric Mercado (6-2) takes on a young up-and-comer in Aryion Young (4-1). Mercado always knows how to put on a show and he tends to look great while doing. The young fighter was 3 fight winning streak before losing his last time out against Justice Torres. Mercado will look to put that last fight behind him and get back to his winning ways. After submitting his last opponent in just 2 minutes, Aryion Young has shown he can get the job done anywhere he needs to. The Factory X fighter has won both of his fights for the promotion and has looked very promising while doing it. Now facing Aric Mercado, Young will be prepared for the toughest fight of his young career.

There are plenty of other fighters and matchups to look out for throughout the evening. Former Fury FC Lightweight Champion Kolton Englund (11-4) has returned after going 2-0 since his loss on Dana White’s Contender Series. Rising prospect Michael Aswell (5-0) is set to take on his toughest test yet in Fury FC and LFA vet Cameron Graves (10-6). American Kickboxing Academy’s Jacobe Smith (3-0) makes his Fury FC debut after starting his pro career with 3 first-round finishes. The always-exciting Cameron Smotherman (6-3) returns to the cage fresh off of a win from his fight just last month. Oliver Jiminez (1-1) looks to capatilize coming off of a highlight-worthy knockout win earlier this year. There will also be a light heavyweight championship and featherweight championship taking place during today’s preliminary card.

MMA Sucka will have live coverage on Fury FC 72: Van vs. McLean. Starting with the preliminary card at 3:30pm ET/12:30pm PT on Fury FC’s Facebook Page. Followed by the main card at 5:30pm ET/2:30pm PT on UFC Fight Pass.

Fury FC 72 Results

Postliminary Card

Armando Zuniga (1-0) def. Oliver Jiminez (1-2) via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) at 4:04 of Round 2

Al Savea (3-0) def. Kimo Luis (3-4) via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) at 3:18 of Round 1

Victor Gonzales (2-5) def. Dominick Perez (0-3) via Submission (Armbar) at 1:35 of Round 1

Elijah Smith (2-0) def. Christian Strong (2-1) via TKO (Punches) at 1:18 of Round 1

Main Card

Joshua Van (7-1) def. Cleveland McLean (17-10) via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) at 4:49 of Round 2, wins Fury FC Flyweight Championship

Aryion Young (5-1) def. Aric Mercado (6-3) via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Kolton Englund (12-4) def. Darren Whitney (5-2) via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Michael Aswell (6-0) def. Cameron Graves (10-7) via TKO (Hammerfists to Ground Strikes) at 0:16 of Round 2

Jacobe Smith (4-0) def. Tommie Britton (5-10) via TKO (Ground and Pound) at 3:06 of Round 1

Cameron Smotherman (7-3) def. Adam Martinez (8-7) via KO (Left Hook) at 0:38 of Round 3

Nick Piccininni (4-0) def. Freddie Rodriguez (4-1) via Submission (Arm Triangle Choke) at 3:11 of Round 1

Austin Green (5-0) def. Mario Moore (1-2) via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Preliminary Card

Amateur MMA

Felipe Rocha (4-0) def. James Ford (3-1) via Split Decision (48-47, 47-48, 48-47) – wins the Fury FC Amateur Light Heavyweight Championship

Kyle Todrank (4-0) def. Dylan Aguilar (2-3), via Unanimous Decision (49-46, 49-46, 48-47) – wins the Fury FC Amateur Featherweight Championship

Ross Thurwalker (3-2) def. Jesus Chavez (0-1) via TKO (Ground and Pound) at 2:14 of Round 3

Andrew Villareal (1-0) def. Casey Lasley (0-1) via Unanimous Decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)

Sebastian Rodriguez (2-0) def. Paul Wilson (0-1) via TKO (Ground and Pound) at 1:35 of Round 1

Share this article

Leave a comment