Fury FC

Fury Challenger Series 10 Results

Image for Fury Challenger Series 10 Results

Just one day after UFC 295, which turned out to be one of the quickest-running UFC pay-per-view main cards in recent memory, Fury FC is back to bring fight fans the 10th rendition of the Fury Challenger Series.

This week, fans of the promotion will be treated to an exciting bantamweight title fight between incumbent champion Cameron Smotherman, and challenger Mando Gutierrez. Both Smotherman and Gutierrez are on the UFC’s recent radar, as the former appeared on an episode of Dana White’s Contender Series over the summer, while the latter fought on TUF 31 under Head Coach Conor McGregor.

Fight fans can catch Fury Challenger Series 10 streaming live on the promotion’s Facebook page beginning at 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT.

Fury FC Bantamweight Championship — Smotherman vs. Gutierrez

Both participants in Sunday’s main event have taken different paths to get here, but both will surely have something to prove to the fans in Houston and fight fans watching around the world. When it comes to Fury FC, Smotherman is among the promotion’s hottest fighters, having won six of his last seven bouts. However, he suffered a setback trying to earn his way into the UFC, absorbing a first-round knockout loss at the hands of Charalampos Grigoriou out of Cyprus. Smotherman will nonetheless look to get back on the horse and defend a title he is still the rightful holder of, and he should still carry his signature hand speed and pressure with him. Plus, he is still just 26, and more improvements could be on the way.

Gutierrez, meanwhile, might pose enough finishing ability to give Smotherman issues. While Team Chandler’s Cody Gibson gave him a wrestling lesson on The Ultimate Fighter, Gutierrez is still just 26 himself, and appears to be on the fast track to sharpening his grappling, as he has since won a grappling match via armbar over retired MMA fighter Charlie Gathers. However, he will need to get Smotherman to the ground in order to trigger his grappling advantage, and given Smotherman’s propensity to sprawl and brawl, fight fans should be in for an entertaining stylistic matchup on Sunday afternoon.

Rest of the Card

Flyweight prospect Jomar Pa-ac from the Philippines will hold down the co-main event slot against Shameek Harvey. He will be making his debut stateside after a reputable 3-1 stint in BRAVE CF. Harvey, meanwhile, is a talented prospect in his own right, and will be making his promotional debut training out of North Carolina.

Moses Diaz is also scheduled to compete on this weekend’s card, fresh off suffering his first career defeat at a Cage Warriors San Diego card. Despite this, he still prodigious fight-changing power for the featherweight division. He will have a tall order in front of him, however, in Omar Hillail, who is 4-2 as a professional training out of Gracie Barra Houston.

In addition to the featured fights, four more will make up the main card, while an eight-fight amateur preliminary card will precede it. The prelims will be headlined by a bout between Donevin Manuel and Michael Simmons for the Fury FC amateur lightweight championship.

For up-to-the-minute results and updates from the Fury Challenger Series, be sure to stay right here with MMA Sucka.

Fury Challenger Series 10 Results

Main Card

Cameron Smotherman (c) def. Mando Gutierrez via Knockout (Knee) at 3:20 — for the Fury FC Bantamweight Championship

Shameek Harvey def. Jomar Pa-ac via Submission (RNC) at 3:05 of Round 1

Lance Wright def Treyvon Coker via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 30-27, 29-28)

Wendy Anundson def. Cara Greenwell via Submission (Armbar) at 3:05 of Round 1

Mansher Khera def. Sam Kilmer via Unanimous Decision

Amateur Preliminary Card

Donevin Manuel vs. Michael Simmons — For the Fury FC Amateur Lightweight Championship

Damion Oranday def. Brian James via Submission (Armbar) at 1:36 of Round 1

Jaden Mackinnon def. Oliver Cortez via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Noah Eledge def. Everett Williams via Verbal Submission (Armbar) at 2:39 of Round 1

Anthony Moore def. Tanner Marsh via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Jose Felipe def. Donnell Williams via Split Decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Share this article

Leave a comment