Rizin Fighting Federation

Rizin 45 Results: Horiguchi vs Shinryu Main Events

Image for Rizin 45 Results: Horiguchi vs Shinryu Main Events

It’s New Year’s Eve in Japan and you know what that means. It’s Rizin time! Rizin 45 will be live from the Saitama Super Arena. There will be 17 fights on the show and unlike MMA which goes by unified rules, knees and soccer kicks to grounded opponents will be allowed.

The main event will feature two of the best flyweights in the world as Kyoji Horiguchi, a former Bellator and Rizin bantamweight champion will take on Makoto “Shinryu” to see who becomes the first Rizin flyweight champion.

Unfortunately, some complications happened with the co-main event. Rizin bantamweight champion Juan Archuleta missed weight in his title defense against Kai Asakura. As a result, Archuleta was stripped of the belt. If he wins, the fight will be deemed a no-contest. Only Asakura is eligible to win.

What is without question the people’s main event will see former K-1 kickboxer Ren Hiramoto take on former Rise kickboxer Ya-Man in an MMA match. Both guys have been talking trash before the fight so it should be an exciting clash.

For a much more in-depth preview of fights to look forward to, please check out our preview here. If you want to see the initial news of some of the fight announcements along with the news of Minoru Kimura’s failed drug test you can check it out here.

Be sure to stay locked into MMA Sucka for up-to-the-minute results and updates!

You can watch Rizin 45 live on Triller TV on Dec 31 at midnight ET/9 p.m. PT. There will be English commentary for the show.

Rizin 45 Results

Main Card (Fite 12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT)

Kyoji Horiguchi def. Makoto “Shinryu” to become the inaugural Rizin flyweight champion via submission (rear-naked choke) in 3:44 of Round 2
Kai Asakura defeated Juan Archuleta via TKO (knee to the body and punches) in 3:20 of Round 2 to become the new Rizin bantamweight champion
Kleber Koike def. Yutaka Saito via technical submission (D’arce choke) in Round 3
Ren Hiramoto def. Ya-Man via unanimous decision
Seika Izawa def. Miyuu Yamamoto (non-title) via submission (rear-naked choke) in :37 seconds of Round 2
Mikio Ueda def. Tsuyoshi Sudario via TKO (head kick and punches) in :55 seconds of Round 2
Hiromasa Ougikubo def. John Dodson via unanimous decision
Vince Morales def. Yuki Motoya via unanimous decision
Shinobu Ota def. Ryusei Ashizawa via KO (punches) in 2:21 of Round 1
Kouzi def. Kota Miura via TKO (soccer kicks) in :59 seconds of Round 2
Igor Tanabe def. Shinsho Anzai via techincal submission (rear-naked choke) in Round 1
Hiroya def. Jo Arai via TKO (punches) in Round 2
Yuta Kubo def. Rukiya Anpo (custom rules MMA match) via submission (rear-naked choke) in 4:28 of Round 1
Suguru Nii def. Satoshi “Dominator” Yamasu via KO (punch) in 1:03 of Round 2
Tatsuki Shinotsuka def. Daichi Tomizawa (kickboxing) via unanimous decision
Ryujin Nasukawa def. Jong Min Shin via TKO (punches) in 2:16 of Round 2
Jo Hiramoto def Yushi via unanimous decision

Share this article

Andrew has been a long time MMA and pro wrestling fan. When he isn't writing about MMA, he is usually training in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, playing video games, or going bar hopping (he only drinks on days that end in "y"). He also co-hosts the RIZIN focused podcast "We are RIZIN" which you can listen to on Soundcloud & Stitcher.

Leave a comment