MMASucka’s UFC 229 staff picks

Image for MMASucka’s UFC 229 staff picks

UFC 229 staff picks are in for the most anticipated event of 2018. After nearly a two-year hiatus, “The NotoriousConor McGregor is set to make his octagon return against current undefeated UFC lightweight champion Khabib Nurmagomedov. All of the main card action will take place tomorrow night, October 6th, beginning at 10:00pm ET (7:00pm PT) on pay-per-view from the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The Notorious

McGregor was a former two division champion, holding both the featherweight and lightweight UFC titles simultaneously. He captured the interim UFC featherweight championship over Chad Mendes in July of 2015 and followed it up with a 13-second knockout over Jose Aldo that unified his title. In 2016, McGregor suffered a submission defeat and majority decision victory over Nate Diaz in two memorable welterweights battles. The potential of a trilogy bout is very likely following tomorrow night’s event. McGregor would close out 2016 with a TKO over Eddie Alvarez at the historic UFC 205, capturing the lightweight championship. He would later be stripped of both titles due to inactivity, having trained and fought in a boxing match against great Floyd Mayweather.

The Eagle

As a result of McGregor being stripped, a fight between Nurmagomedov and Tony Ferguson was scheduled for the main event of UFC 223 in April of 2018; this beginning a fourth attempted fight, but the first for the lightweight strap. However, a knee injury forced Ferguson out of the event, which then saw Max Holloway step in as a potential replacement opponent. Soon after, Holloway was deemed unable to compete, leaving Nurmagomedov without an opponent once more. After three more potential opponents failed to fall through for the event, Al Iaquinta stepped in for the title fight. Nurmagomedov would come out victorious, earning dominant unanimous decision and capturing the UFC lightweight championship. The victory kept “The Eagle” undefeated with 26 straight victories dating back to 2008.

Staff Picks

The WINNER of staff picks will have a chance to receive a custom-made championship belt from ProAmBelts following completion of the 2018 calendar year! The 2017 winner was awarded to Wesley Riddle, compiling a record of 118-74 for main card fights. Staff picks compose of both Bellator and UFC fights taken place on the main card.

Check out our MMASucka staff picks for the biggest card of the year, UFC 229, as well as our current compiled records through 2018.

Staff Records after Bellator 206: Mousasi vs. MacDonald

1. Michael DeSantis: 147-64
2. Ryan Wagner: 143-68
3. Wesley Riddle: 139-72
4. Mitchell Banuelos: 136-75
5. Omar Villagrana: 134-77
6T. Mike Skytte: 120-91
6T. Ed Gallo: 120-91
8. Jeremy Brand: 119-83
9. Justin Pierrot: 100-87
10. Matt Bricker: 67-38
11. Brian Gerson: 66-51
12. Suraj Sukumar: 37-26
13. Connor Deitrich: 21-8

Michelle Waterson (15-6) vs. Felice Herrig (14-7)

Jeremy Brand: Waterson via UD
Wesley Riddle: Herrig via SD
Mike Skytte: Waterson via SD
Justin Pierrot: Herrig via Round 3 SUB
Michael DeSantis: Herrig via UD
Ryan Wagner: Herrig via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Waterson via UD
Ed Gallo: Waterson via UD
Omar Villagrana: Herrig via UD
Brian Gerson: Herrig via UD
Matt Bricker: Herrig via UD
Connor Deitrich: Herrig via UD
Suraj Sukumar: N/A

Staff picking Waterson: 4
Staff picking Herrig: 8

Derrick Lewis (20-5, 1 NC) vs. Alexander Volkov (29-6)

Jeremy Brand: Volkov via UD
Wesley Riddle: Volkov via Round 2 TKO
Mike Skytte: Lewis via Round 1 TKO
Justin Pierrot: Lewis via SD
Michael DeSantis: Volkov via UD
Ryan Wagner: Volkov via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Lewis via Round 2 TKO
Ed Gallo: Volkov via Round 3 TKO
Omar Villagrana: Volkov via Round 2 TKO
Brian Gerson: Volkov via UD
Matt Bricker: Volkov via UD
Connor Deitrich: Volkov via UD
Suraj Sukumar: N/A

Staff picking Lewis: 3
Staff picking Volkov: 9

Ovince Saint Preux (22-11) vs. Dominick Reyes (9-0)

Jeremy Brand: Saint Preux via Round 2 TKO
Wesley Riddle: Reyes via Round 1 TKO
Mike Skytte: Saint Preux via UD
Justin Pierrot: Saint Preux via Round 1 SUB
Michael DeSantis: Reyes via Round 2 TKO
Ryan Wagner: Reyes via Round 2 TKO
Mitchell Banuelos: Saint Preux via Round 1 SUB
Ed Gallo: Saint Preux via Round 2 SUB
Omar Villagrana: Reyes via UD
Brian Gerson: Saint Preux via Round 2 TKO
Matt Bricker: Reyes via Round 2 TKO
Connor Deitrich: Reyes via Round 3 TKO
Suraj Sukumar: N/A

Staff picking Saint Preux: 6
Staff picking Reyes: 6

Tony Ferguson (25-3) vs. Anthony Pettis (21-7)

Jeremy Brand: Ferguson via Round 2 SUB
Wesley Riddle: Ferguson via UD
Mike Skytte: Ferguson via UD
Justin Pierrot: Ferguson via UD
Michael DeSantis: Ferguson via UD
Ryan Wagner: Ferguson via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Ferguson via UD
Ed Gallo: Pettis via UD
Omar Villagrana: Ferguson via UD
Brian Gerson: Ferguson via Round 1 SUB
Matt Bricker: Ferguson via UD
Connor Deitrich: Ferguson via UD
Suraj Sukumar: N/A

Staff picking Ferguson: 11
Staff picking Pettis: 1

Khabib Nurmagomedov (26-0) vs. Conor McGregor (21-3)

Jeremy Brand: Khabib via Round 3 TKO MAULING
Wesley Riddle: McGregor via Round 1 TKO (still like Khalabeeb tho)
Mike Skytte: Khabib via Round 3 SUB (MY GUY, PLEASE.)
Justin Pierrot: McGregor via Round 3 TKO
Michael DeSantis: Khabib via Round 4 SUB (smesh)
Ryan Wagner: Conor via Round 2 TKO ÉIRE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Mitchell Banuelos: Khalabeeb via UD (5 round smesh)
Ed Gallo: Conrad via Round 2 TKO
Omar Villagrana: McGregor via Round 2 TKO
Brian Gerson: N/A
Matt Bricker: Mac Dad via Round 3 TKO
Connor Deitrich: Khabib via Round 3 TKO
Suraj Sukumar: N/A

Staff picking Nurmagomedov: 5
Staff picking McGregor: 6

Embed from Getty Images

Share this article

Wesley Riddle is a 29-year-old writer residing in Raleigh, North Carolina from Harrisonburg, Virginia. He has been part of the MMASucka team since the fourth quarter of 2016. Additionally, he serves as a writer with partner site Last Word on Motorsports.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *