Asian MMA

MMASucka’s ONE Championship: Age of Dragons Staff Picks

Image for MMASucka’s ONE Championship: Age of Dragons Staff Picks

Two straight triple-header weekends for MMASucka staff picks. Tomorrow morning, November 15 will see ONE Championship: Age of Dragons take place from the Cadillac Arena in Beijing, China. The preliminary card will begin at 4:00am ET (1:00am PT) on various social media platforms and the ONE Super App while the main card will begin at 5:30am ET (2:30am PT) live on the Bleacher Report Live app.

Unfortunately due to a miscalculated date from Thursday’s Bellator 234 event in Israel, there will be no staff picks article for this event. However, results from the main card can be found further below in the “staff records” category. Stay tuned here to MMASucka tomorrow afternoon for our UFC Fight Night 164 picks.

The Fights

Our featured MMA fight will see top atomweight contenders Bo Meng and Laura Balin throw down at 115 pounds (52.2 kilograms). Meng, most notably known as the lone fighter to defeat the likes of UFC champion Weili Zhang, signed with ONE earlier in the year after an impressive three-fight win streak. However, back-to-back fight cancellations against fan-favorite veteran Mei Yamaguchi left Meng unable to prove herself against the best. A victory would be her first in over a year and number fourteen in the win column. Her opponent, Balin, comes in hungry to snap a two-fight submission skid to Ayaka Miura and the aforementioned Yamaguchi. The Argentinian has faced defeat in all three of her ONE Championship outings; her first for the strawweight title against Xiong Jing Nan. Balin will look to improve upon her 92% finishing rate with either a potential seventh submission or fifth knockout victory.

Fighters also set to battle at the event include the likes of Team Lakay’s Edward Kelly and Russia’s Yusup Saadulaev. See the four ONE Championship: Age of Dragons match-ups counted for MMASucka picks tomorrow further below.

Staff Picks

Throughout the year, staff picks will be composed of four different MMA promotions: UFCBellatorONE, and RIZIN. Main cards will make up both UFC and Bellator picks, while the biggest fights to make up ONE and RIZIN events will be used. The WINNER of staff picks will have a choice between receiving a championship belt from ProAmBelts or a championship chain from Championship Chains. The 2018 winner was awarded to Michael DeSantis, compiling a record of 202-101.

Check out our MMASucka staff picks for ONE Championship: Age of Dragons below.

Staff Records after Bellator 234:

1. Michael DeSantis: 280-157 (4-1)
2. Connor Deitrich: 278-159 (3-2)
3. Ed Gallo: 270-163 (5-0)
4. Mike Skytte: 258-179 (3-2)
5. Mitchell Banuelos: 254-154 (4-1)
6. Jeremy Brand: 253-183 (3-2)
7. Matt Bricker: 243-181 (4-1)
8. Ash Camyab: 227-172 (3-2)
9. Frazer Krohn: 155-114 (2-3)
10. Ryan Hobbs: 138-121 (3-2)
11. Andrew Benjamin: 116-84 (N/A)
12. McKenzie Guardiero: 112-88 (3-2)
13. Tanner Russ: 88-47 (3-2)
14. Dan Rose: 75-46 (3-2)
15. Mike Lynch: 40-42 (3-2)

*parenthesis indicates results from Bellator 234 fights*

Yusup Saadulaev (18-5-1, 1 NC) vs. Daichi Takenaka (12-1-1)

Jeremy Brand: Saadulaev via UD
Mike Skytte: Takenaka via Round 3 TKO
Michael DeSantis: Saadulaev via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Takenaka via UD
Ed Gallo: Saadulaev via UD
Matt Bricker: Saadulaev via UD
Connor Deitrich: Saadulaev via UD
Ash Camyab: Saadulaev via UD
Ryan Hobbs: Takenaka via Round 2 TKO
Frazer Krohn: Takenaka via UD
Tanner Russ: Takenaka via UD
Dan Rose: Saadulaev via UD
Mike Lynch: Saadulaev via UD

Staff picking Saadulaev: 8
Staff picking Takenaka: 5

Tang Kai (9-2) vs. Edward Kelly (12-7)

Jeremy Brand: Kelly via Round 2 SUB
Mike Skytte: Kelly via UD
Michael DeSantis: Kelly via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Kelly via UD
Ed Gallo: Kelly via Round 1 TKO
Matt Bricker: Kelly via Round 1 SUB
Connor Deitrich: Kelly via Round 1 TKO
Ash Camyab: Kelly via Round 3 TKO
Ryan Hobbs: Kelly via UD
Frazer Krohn: Kelly via Round 1 TKO
Tanner Russ: Kelly via Round 2 TKO
Dan Rose: Kai via UD
Mike Lynch: Kelly via Round 1 TKO

Staff picking Kai: 1
Staff picking Kelly: 12

Litao Miao (5-1) vs. Jeremy Miado (8-4)

Jeremy Brand: Miado via UD
Mike Skytte: Miado via Round 1 TKO
Michael DeSantis: Miao via Round 2 TKO
Mitchell Banuelos: Miao via UD
Ed Gallo: Miao via UD
Matt Bricker: Miado via UD
Connor Deitrich: Miao via UD
Ash Camyab: Miado via UD
Ryan Hobbs: Miado via UD
Frazer Krohn: Miado via UD
Tanner Russ: Miao via UD
Dan Rose: Miao via UD
Mike Lynch: Miao via UD

Staff picking Maio: 7
Staff picking Miado: 6

Meng Bo (13-5) vs. Laura Balin (11-5)

Jeremy Brand: Bo via UD
Mike Skytte: Balin via SD
Michael DeSantis: Bo via Round 2 SUB
Mitchell Banuelos: Bo via UD
Ed Gallo: Bo via UD
Matt Bricker: Bo via UD
Connor Deitrich: Bo via UD
Ash Camyab: Bo via UD
Ryan Hobbs: Balin via UD
Frazer Krohn: Balin via Round 3 SUB
Tanner Russ: Bo via UD
Dan Rose: Bo via UD
Mike Lynch: Bo via UD

Staff picking Bo: 10
Staff picking Balin: 3


ONE Championship: Age of Dragons

The poster for ONE Championship: Age of Dragons taking place Saturday, November 16 from the Cadillac Arena in Beijing, China (photo credits to ONE Championship)

Share this article

Wesley Riddle is a 29-year-old writer residing in Raleigh, North Carolina from Harrisonburg, Virginia. He has been part of the MMASucka team since the fourth quarter of 2016. Additionally, he serves as a writer with partner site Last Word on Motorsports.

Leave a comment