MMA News: This Week in MMA

MMA News
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA - JULY 10: (L-R) Opponents Dustin Poirier and Conor McGregor of Ireland face off prior to their welterweight fight during the UFC 264 event at T-Mobile Arena on July 10, 2021 in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Jeff Bottari/Zuffa LLC)

MMA news this week includes a shocking injury during the Dustin Poirier vs. Conor McGregor bout at UFC 264 as the men met for their trilogy fight, Bellator released 18 athletes from its roster, and former UFC veteran Travis Fuller committed suicide while in jail awaiting trial on child pornography charges. This week in MMA includes plenty of fight action as well.

Upcoming Fight Cards Week of 7-13-21 to 7- 18-21

The action kicks off with AMC 103 on Thursday, July 15. The five-fight card gets underway at 11 am ET/8 am PT from the WOW Arena in Sochi, Russia.  In the main event, Yusuf Raisov (17-2) meets Alexey Makhno (25-8) in a 170-lb. Fight.

Catch ACA 126 on Thursday starting at 10:15 am ET/7:25 am PT as Muslim Magomedov (9-0) fights Evgeny Egemberdiev (12-3) in the Light Heavyweight Main Event.

Bellator 262 takes place Friday, July 16, starting at 6 pm  ET/3 pm PT from the Mohegan Sun in Uncasville, CT. The main card kicks off at 9 pm ET/6 pm PT as Juliana Velasquez (11-0) goes head-to-head with Denise Kielholtz (6-2) in a Title bout.

On Friday, July 16, catch LFA 111 live from Rio De Janeiro, Brazil starting at 8 pm ET/5 pm PT. The main card starts about 9 pm ET/6 pm PT. In the Main Event, Rangel de Sa (10-1) fights Ismael Bonfim (14-3) in a Light Heavyweight matchup.

Be sure to tune in for UFC Vegas 31 on Saturday, July 17. The prelims start at 7 pm ET/4 pm PT; the Main Card begins at 10 pm ET/7 pm PT.  In the Main Event, Islam Makhachev (19-1) fights Thiago Moises (15-4.) Other fights on the Main Card include Marion Reneau vs. Miesha Tate and Jeremy Stephens vs. Mateusz Gamrot.

UFC 264: Poirier vs. McGregor Ends in a Shocking Round 1 TKO

Dustin Poirier defeated Conor McGregor via Round 1 TKO after the Irishman suffered a grueling leg injury (broken fibula and tibia) that sent him crashing to the mat. “His ankle snapped from throwing punches,” UFC president Dana White said, confirming the possibility of a fourth match between the athletes in the future.

ufc 264
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA – JULY 10: Conor McGregor of Ireland is carried out of the arena on a stretcher after injuring his ankle in the first round of his lightweight bout against Dustin Poirier during UFC 264: Poirier v McGregor 3 at T-Mobile Arena on July 10, 2021 in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Stacy Revere/Getty Images)

 

Bellator Parts Ways With Fighters

Bellator officials confirmed the release of 18 athletes from its roster on Saturday. Specific details concerning the athletes’ release are unavailable. Daniel Straus and Liam McGeary are among the athletes cut from Bellator.

Jake Paul Back at it

After the stunning UFC 264 victory Dustin Poirier scored over Conor McGregor, former YouTuber-turned-boxer, Jake Paul immediately revealed the “Sleepy Conor” handcrafted necklace depicting McGregor following his KO loss in their second bout. Never miss an opportunity to troll all those you can.

ESPN Debuts Two New MMA Shows

Two new MMA shows debuted on ESPN+. Those shows are The Chanel Sonnen Show w/ Jorge Sedano and DC & RC. 

Travis Fulton Commits Suicide

In more serious MMA news, former UFC veteran Travis Fulton, who was in jail awaiting trial on child porn charges, hanged himself in his cell on Saturday, officials confirm. The 44-year-old known as “Ironman” was also awaiting trial on domestic violence charges. Fulton had fought more times in the MMA than any other athlete. 

Fans Boo Donald Trump

Former President Donald Trump was met with boos as he made his way into the T-Mobile Arena midway through the co-main event during UFC 264 on Saturday night. Trump, who has a longstanding friendship with Dana White also received a few cheers during his entrance. This is Trump’s first UFC event since losing his bid for re-election to President Joe Biden. He was last spotted at a UFC event in 2019.

More MMA News Next Week

Until next week, drink your milk to keep those bones strong and healthy so you never find yourself in the same position as Conor McGregor is in right now. You can also follow me on Twitter @AmandaG_LWOS for more MMA news and information.

Featured Image
Embed from Getty Images

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here