Bellator 290 Results

Image for Bellator 290 Results

Bellator 290 is taking place at the Kia Forum in Inglewood, California as the promotion kicks off 2023 with a retirement bout for Fedor Emelianenko as he attempts to add one last belt to his legendary collection.

The fight is a rematch of his Bellator 214 encounter with Ryan Bader where he was defeated by TKO in the first round to win the Bellator heavyweight title.

A Bellator light heavyweight title bout between current champion Vadim Nemkov and former UFC middleweight title contender Yoel Romero was expected to take place at the event. However, Nemkov withdrew for undisclosed reasons and the bout was canceled.

Instead, fans now get a fun matchup for the Bellator middleweight world title between current champion Johnny Eblen and Anatoly Tokov will serve as the new co-main event. Eblen will be looking to secure his first title defense after dominating Gegard Mousasi from pillar to post at Bellator 282, with Tokov looking to secure what he has long seen as his title.

The main card is rounded out by a welterweight showdown that promises to be a barnburner between knockout artists Sabah Homasi and Brennan Ward, each of whom picked up knockout victories at the aforementioned Bellator 282.

The prelims start at 6:00 PM EST/3:00 PM PST and can be found on their YouTube channel. The main card starts at 9:00 PM EST/6:00 PM EST on CBS in the promotion’s debut on American network television, and will also be simulcast on Paramount+.

Bellator 290 Results

Main Card

Ryan Bader def. Fedor Emelianenko via TKO (Punches) at 2:30 of Round 1 to retain the Bellator heavyweight title

Johnny Eblen def. Anatoly Tokov via Unanimous Decision to retain the Bellator middleweight title

Brennan Ward def. Sabah Homasi via TKO (Kick and Punches) at 1:34 of Round 2

Preliminary Card

Lorenz Larkin def. Mukhamed Berkhamov via KO (Elbow) at 1:21 of Round 1

Henry Corrales def. Akhmed Magomedov via Unanimous Decision

Ali Isaev and Steve Mowry Ends in a Draw (28-28, 28-28, 28-28)

Chris Gonzalez def. Max Rohskopf via TKO (Punches) at 1:22 of Round 2

Grant Neal def. Karl Albrektsson via Unanimous Decision

Diana Avsargova def. Alejandra Lara via Split Decision

Nikita Mikhailov def. Darrion Caldwell via Unanimous Decision

Postliminary Card

Neiman Gracie def. Dante Schiro via Unanimous Decision

Jaylon Bates def. Jornel Lugo via Split Decision

Isaiah Hokit def. Peter Ishiguro via Unanimous Decision

Yusuf Karakaya def. Ethan Hughes via Unanimous Decision

Share this article

Leave a comment