UFC 297: Strickland vs. Du Plessis Results

Image for UFC 297: Strickland vs. Du Plessis Results

A new era begins at UFC 297 and MMASucka has your live results right here!

Two Title Fights In Toronto

For the first time since 2017, a middleweight title fight will take place without UFC superstar, Israel Adesanya. Newly crowned champion Sean Strickland defends the strap against Dricus Du Plessis in a pay-per-view headliner at Scotiabank Arena in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

This marks Strickland’s very first title defense after dominating Adesanya in Australia last September. The American goes for his fourth-straight victory against Du Plessis, who is undefeated in the Octagon. Du Plessis enters his first UFC title fight on a six-fight win streak. He’ll look to bring the belt back to South Africa.

New blood runs through the women’s bantamweight division as well as Mayra Bueno Silva battles Raquel Pennington. For ‘Rocky’, this isn’t her first title shot as she fought and lost to Amanda Nunes in 2018. Years later, Pennington gets a second chance to wear UFC gold with the long-reigning champ Nunes retiring last June.

On the other hand, Bueno Silva hopes to keep the women’s bantamweight belt in Brazil. The #3 ranked contender is coming off a submission win over past UFC title holder Holly Holm, which was later overturned to a no-contest because of a positive drug test for ritalinic acid.

The Rest Of The Card

On the main card, UFC veteran Neil Magny will try to get back into the win column over hometown hero, Mike Mallott. Sean Strickland’s training partner, Chris Curtis takes on Marc-Andre Barriault and in a featherweight affair, Arnold Allen looks to bounce Movsar Evolve from the ranks of the undefeated.

Brad Katona is also back, with the two-time ‘The Ultimate Fighter’ Champion challenging Garrett Armfield in his long-awaited return to the UFC.

UFC 297 Results

Main Card (10pm ET):

Dricus Du Plessis defeats Sean Strickland via split decision (48-47, 47-48, 48-47)

Raquel Pennington defeats Mayra Bueno Silva via unanimous decision (49-46, 49-46, 49-45) – to become the UFC Women’s Bantamweight Champion

Neil Magny defeats Mike Malott via TKO (punches) in round 3 (4:45)

Chris Curtis defeats Marc-Andre Barriault via unanimous decision (30-27, 28-29, 30-27)

Movsar Evloev defeats Arnold Allen via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Prelims (8pm ET):

Garrett Armfield defeats Brad Katona via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Sean Woodson defeats Charles Jourdain via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Ramon Taveras defeats Serhiy Sidey via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Gillian Robertson defeats Polyana Viana via TKO (punches) in round 2 (3:12)

Early Prelims (6:30pm ET):

Sam Patterson defeats Yohan Lainesse via submission (rear-naked choke) in round 1 (2:03)

Jasmine Jasudavicius defeats Priscila Cachoeira via submission (anaconda choke) in round 3 (4:21)

Jimmy Flick defeats Malcolm Gordon via submission (arm-triangle) in round 2 (1:17)

Check out the highlights below:

Share this article

Christopher De Santiago is a 22 year-old journalist out of Texas with years of experience covering MMA. Follow him on X: @chris_dsantiago

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *