MMASucka’s UFC 228 staff picks

Image for MMASucka’s UFC 228 staff picks

UFC 228 staff picks are in for this week’s card taking place later this evening, September 8th, from the American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas. In the featured bout of the night, current UFC welterweight champion Tyron Woodley will look to retain his belt against the undefeated Englishman of Darren Till.

A lot of shifting began with the main card, as a hospitalization for then-UFC women’s flyweight champion Nicco Montano forced the strip of her belt and cancellation of her fight with Valentina Shevchenko. As a result, strawweights Jessica Andrade and Karolina Kowalkiewicz will now be competing in tonight’s co-main event slot. Also bumped to the main card is a flyweight pairing between Top 10-ranked flyweights Jimmie Rivera and John Dodson.

The WINNER of staff picks will have a chance to receive a custom-made championship belt from ProAmBelts following completion of the 2018 calendar year! The 2017 winner was awarded to Wesley Riddle, compiling a record of 118-74 for main card fights. Staff picks compose of both Bellator and UFC fights taken place on the main card.

Check out our UFC 228 staff picks below, as well as current records in 2018.

Staff Records after UFC Fight Night 135:

1. Michael DeSantis: 131-57
2. Ryan Wagner: 126-62
3. Wesley Riddle: 123-65
4. Mitchell Banuelos: 122-66
5. Omar Villagrana: 117-71
6. Jeremy Brand: 109-76
7. Ed Gallo: 107-81
8. Mike Skytte: 103-79
9. Justin Pierrot: 85-79
10. Brian Gerson: 53-45
11. Matt Bricker: 49-33
12. Suraj Sukumar: 28-25
13. Connor Deitrich: 5-1

Abdul Razak Alhassan (9-1) vs. Niko Price (12-1, 1 NC)

Jeremy Brand: Price via UD
Wesley Riddle: Alhassan via Round 1 TKO
Mike Skytte: Alhassan via Round 1 TKO
Justin Pierrot: Alhassan via UD
Michael DeSantis: Alhassan via Round 1 TKO
Ryan Wagner: Alhassan via Round 1 TKO
Mitchell Banuelos: Alhassan via Round 1 TKO
Ed Gallo: Price via Round 2 SUB
Omar Villagrana: Alhassan via UD
Brian Gerson: Alhassan via Round 2 TKO
Matt Bricker: Alhassan via Round 1 TKO
Connor Deitrich: Price via Round 1 TKO
Suraj Sukumar: Alhassan via UD

Staff picking Alhassan: 10
Staff picking Price: 3

Jimmie Rivera (21-2) vs. John Dodson (21-9)

Jeremy Brand: Dodson via UD
Wesley Riddle: Rivera via UD
Mike Skytte: Rivera via UD
Justin Pierrot: Dodson via UD
Michael DeSantis: Rivera via UD
Ryan Wagner: Rivera via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Dodson via UD
Ed Gallo: Rivera via UD
Omar Villagrana: Rivera via UD
Brian Gerson: Dodson via UD
Matt Bricker: Rivera via UD
Connor Deitrich: Rivera via UD
Suraj Sukumar: Rivera via UD

Staff picking Rivera: 9
Staff picking Dodson: 4

Zabit Magomedsharipov (15-1) vs. Brandon Davis (9-4)

Jeremy Brand: Magomedsharipov via Round 1 SUB
Wesley Riddle: Magomedsharipov via Round 2 SUB
Mike Skytte: Magomedsharipov via Round 2 TKO
Justin Pierrot: Magomedsharipov via UD
Michael DeSantis: Magomedsharipov via Round 1 SUB
Ryan Wagner: Magomedsharipov via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Magomedsharipov via UD
Ed Gallo: Magomedsharipov via UD
Omar Villagrana: Magomedsharipov via Round 1 TKO
Brian Gerson: Magomedsharipov via Round 1 TKO
Matt Bricker: Magomedsharipov via UD
Connor Deitrich: Magomedsharipov via Round 2 SUB
Suraj Sukumar: Magomedsharipov via UD

Staff picking Magomedsharipov: 13
Staff picking Davis: 0

Jessica Andrade (18-6) vs. Karolina Kowalkiewicz (12-2)

Jeremy Brand: Andrade via Round 2 TKO
Wesley Riddle: Andrade via UD
Mike Skytte: Andrade via UD
Justin Pierrot: Andrade via UD
Michael DeSantis: Andrade via UD
Ryan Wagner: Andrade via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Andrade via UD
Ed Gallo: Andrade via UD
Omar Villagrana: Andrade via UD
Brian Gerson: Kowalkiewicz via UD
Matt Bricker: Andrade via UD
Connor Deitrich: Andrade via Round 2 SUB
Suraj Sukumar: Andrade via UD

Staff picking Andrade: 12
Staff picking Kowalkiewicz: 1

Tyron Woodley (18-3-1) vs. Darren Till (17-0-1)

Jeremy Brand: Woodley via Round 2 TKO
Wesley Riddle: Woodley via UD
Mike Skytte: Woodley via SD
Justin Pierrot: Woodley via UD
Michael DeSantis: Woodley via UD
Ryan Wagner: Till via UD
Mitchell Banuelos: Woodley via Round 4 TKO
Ed Gallo: Woodley via UD
Omar Villagrana: Woodley via UD
Brian Gerson: Woodley via Round 3 TKO
Matt Bricker: Woodley via SD
Connor Deitrich: Woodley via Round 4 TKO
Suraj Sukumar: Woodley via UD

Staff picking Woodley: 12
Staff picking Till: 1

Embed from Getty Images

Share this article

Wesley Riddle is a 29-year-old writer residing in Raleigh, North Carolina from Harrisonburg, Virginia. He has been part of the MMASucka team since the fourth quarter of 2016. Additionally, he serves as a writer with partner site Last Word on Motorsports.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *