Polaris 24: Hue vs. Szczecinski Results

Image for Polaris 24: Hue vs. Szczecinski Results

Polaris, one of the world’s premier grappling organizations, is set to return on Saturday, June 3 in front of a sold-out crowd from the Fairfield Concert Hall in London, England. The show will be headlined by a pair of title matches, with Jed Hue set to take on Mateusz Szczecinski for the welterweight crown while one of B-Team Jiu-Jitsu’s founding members, Ethan Crelinsten takes on 10th Planet mainstay Nate Orchard for the lightweight crown.

Fight fans can catch Polaris 24 streaming live on UFC Fight Pass beginning at 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT with the preliminary matches set to stream live on the Polaris YouTube beginning at approximately 10:15 a.m. ET / 7:15 a.m. PT.

Polaris Welterweight Championship — Hue vs. Szczecinski

With Edwin Najimi having vacated the Polaris welterweight strap, Hue and Szczecinski will now grapple for the right to call themselves “champion” in Saturday’s main event. Hue, a beloved figure among Polaris and submission grappling fans, boasts an impeccable 4-0 record in superfights. He has also competed on behalf of Team UK & Ireland in Polaris Squads, repeatedly putting together statement performances. He most notably put his tremendous resilience and skill on full display in the middleweight grand prix, reaching the final and taking eventual champion Roberto Jimenez to the limit despite up a weight class.

Similarly, Szczecinski demonstrated his tenacity in the middleweight grand prix, although he was unable to advance beyond the opening round. Nevertheless, this formidable Polish leglock specialist is renowned throughout Europe for his skillset, making him a tough outing for anyone. He received an invitation to compete in the 77kg division at ADCC 2022 and responded by submitting the ever-talented William Tackett in the opening round, garnering attention and making his presence felt.

The clash between Hue and Szczecinski promises to be an exhilarating battle for the welterweight title. Fans can expect an intense showcase of skills as both competitors strive to claim the championship belt and etch their names in Polaris history.

Polaris Lightweight Championship — Crelinsten vs. Orchard

Crelinsten vs. Orchard, for as exciting of a contest as it will be, was actually not the original lightweight title bout scheduled for Polaris 24. Ashley Williams out of Wales and UFC featherweight Ryan Hall, who were originally set to contend for the lightweight belt were both forced out of the match in early May. Stepping into the spotlight is Canada’s Crelinsten, who will be going head-to-head with a seasoned veteran in Orchard with Polaris gold up for grabs.

Crelinsten’s drive should be fueled by his narrow defeat to Ashley Williams in a previous Polaris title bout. This time around, he will look to avoid leaving the decision in the hands of the judges and hope for a submission against the talented 10th Planet legend. With two ADCC appearances under his belt, Crelinsten has developed a reputation for his up-tempo and exciting style.

On the other side of the mat, Orchard brings his own set of credentials to the main event. He showed what he can do at Polaris Squads 3, contributing to Team USA’s big victory with a submission over Kieran Davern. While Crelinsten is known for pushing the pace, Orchard is notorious for his unorthodox and inventive approach to grappling, posing a significant challenge for anyone preparing to face him, let alone on short-notice.

Polaris 24 Results

Main Card

Mateusz Szczecinski def. Jed Hue via Foot Lock at :42 — For the Polaris Welterweight Championship

Ethan Crelinsten def. Nate Orchard via Unanimous Decision — For the Polaris Lightweight Championship

Keith Krikorian def. Tom Halpin via RNC at 3:53

Jason Rau def. Matty Holmes via Armbar at 6:55

Martina Zola def. Rosie Clark via Unanimous Decision

Dinu Bucalet def. Ollie Webb via Majority Decision

Preliminary Card

Shanelle Dyer def. Julia Scardone via Omoplata Wrist Lock at 7:19

Yousuf Nabi def. Matt Inman via Unanimous Decision*

Ash Grimshaw def. Fabrizio Calio via Unanimous Decision

Wali Abdullah def. Nathan Kay via Unanimous Decision

Chris Macken def. Jaye Paul via Heel Hook at 3:30

Nathan Jones def. Jack Gover via RNC at 2:20

Sandro Tevzadze def. Alex Salisbury via Unanimous Decision

Jack Tyley def. Peter Shamarkou via Kneebar at 9:04

Hejraat Rashid def. Muhammed Mustafa via Calf Slicer at 8:08

Gabriele Schuck def. Injana Goodman via Unanimous Decision

Will Nichols def. Leo Blum via Unanimous Decision

Ricardo Cidra def. Alexey Egorov via Unanimous Decision

Ethan Weston def. Amir Marouani via Arm Triangle at 2:26

* – Denotes Gi Match

Share this article

Leave a comment